Question Windows 10 Home Networking?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Darren Heal, May 9, 2019.

  1. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Anyone figured out how to get Win10 home networking, um, working, after patch 1807?

    I have several Pcs I want to network, all running Win10:
    - my desktop
    - my home server (basically another desktop with LOTS of internal and external RAID'd storage and nearly 300 movies and 500 CDs ripped
    -the media room HTPC
    - my laptop
    - the wife's home desktop
    - the wife's laptop
    - the stepson's desktop

    The main objective is to share media files and printers but basically I would like to set up a puke network.

    I could change the home server to some flavour of Linux but I'm not sure even that would work.

    I do not want to add NAS or any other hardware if possible. Money is tight and we've already got a shedload of hardware anyway.

    Advice anyone?
     
  2. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,743
    1) Are you saying it worked until the patch and now does not, or has it never worked?
    2) Do you know what terms like "Workgroup" "Domain" and "Homegroup" mean (so we can pitch the conversation at an appropriate level.)
    3) We need to tease out the diagnosis somewhat - can you describe the symptoms?

    Generally with Windows in small networks, the protocols themselves are all enabled and installed "out of the box" and all you need to do is ensure all stations are in the correct IP subnet, that all are participating in the same Workgroup (which by default is named "WOKRGROUP") and you set up some appropriate shares and permissions. Possibly some firewall setting changes are required, but often it takes care of that for itself.

    However, with later versions of Windows there have been a few different versions of the CIFS/SMB protocol and some of them don't "talk" to each other very well, if at all.
     
  3. Hillskill

    Hillskill
    Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +5,647
    I had to go into services and tweak some settings. My machines then all started to magically see each other!
     
  4. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    To kickevh:

    1. It worked fine until patch 1807 - this is a well documented problem on the internerd. Microsoft decided to remove workgroups (which I never liked anyway) and suddenly all PC to PC networking stopped, um, networking.
    2. Sort of. But all I want is for the PCs in my house to talk to each other so I don't have to wander round the house with a 1 terabyte USB drive moving movies and music from one PC to another. I'd like them all on one server and to be able to access them around the house.
    3. Symptoms: In file explorer I can "see" the other PCs, but I can't access their hard drives and they can't access the server's.
    4. My tech skills: I can screw 'em together, I know about ctrl-alt-delete, I'm farily nifty with the likes of Excel and Mathcad and some CAD and FEA software, much beyond that and I am WAY out of depth.

    To hillskill:

    I've tried some tweaks but there doesn't seem to be a definitive 1, do this, 2 do that, 3 then do this kind of instruction anywhere, not even from flaming Microsoft.

    ANYWAY...

    Last night I found a copy of Windows Home Server 2011 for sale on FleaBay for US$95, or about 60 quid, or the price of a pint in central London these days I am sure. We use that on the microserver at the wife's small business (about 6 full timers at the mo) and it's been performing faultlessly since 2011 or 2012 when I bought and installed her HP ProLiant microserver.

    If / when that arrives, and assuming it turns out to be legit, I intend to pull the current 80 gig SSD out of the "server" fit a new 240 gig SSD (these things are cheaper than RAM these days) and load that up with Windows Server 2011. If the PCs won't talk to each other, then at least they should talk to the server...

    Next week, instructions on how to string an ethernet cable along the telegraph poles between her office and home please :)
     
  5. cjed

    cjed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Highworth, Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +587
    Actually Workgroups are still a feature of Windows 10 networking, it's Homegroups that have been removed - and that was in the 1803 update :
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/4091368/windows-10-homegroup-removed
    however, it's quite possible this was only *really* removed in the following update, and if you were using Homegroups, that may be why your networking has stopped working.

    As you can still see the PCs from each other, you may be able to fix the share access issue by adding "Everyone" to the share permissions. It would be safest to limit them to Read permissions only, and see if that allows access to the files you want to get at.

    To set Share permissions, right-click on the shared directory and select "Properties", then select the "Share" tab, then the "Advanced Sharing ..." button and then "Permissions" and then "Add..." and put in the "Everyone" pseudo-group. Set the allowed permissions in the check boxes below.
     
  6. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,743
    Ahh - that one we can do.... :D
     
  7. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just a little local highway junction here in 77433.png
    5 lanes plus hard shoulders x 2 in each direction plus 3 feeder lanes either side each with their 2 hard shoulders plus a 2-lane HOV lane down the middle US 290 might be a challenge... Not to mention the railway line....
     
  8. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think I've tried that already but I'll double check tonight. Thanks.
     
  9. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,743
    I guess obtaining the wayleaves for that might be "interesting," not to mention the cost of the contractors to do the work! :D

    However, joking aside, if you do have need to create a network link between the two sites and both have (or could have) Internet service, then a point-to-point VPN (Virtual Private Network) would be one way to do it without having to dig up the street.

    If unobstructed line of sight is available and the distance is not too great, then a point-to-point Wi-Fi link using highly directional antenna (such as parabolics or Yagi's) might be another option.

    I don't know whether it's legal in the US, but in the UK there's also laser based solutions (again needing unobstructed line of sight.)

    Post back if your interested - we can explore the options. I'd think he VPN solution would probably be cheapest and simplest.
     
  10. Abacus

    Abacus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Torbay
    Ratings:
    +481
    Type Troubleshoot int to search box and troubleshoot network should come which you can try out. (Sometimes it just requires a reset to defaults and then follow the instructions to set things up again)

    Bill
     
  11. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    ^ first thing I tried (and the second and the third and....)
     
  12. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    10 miles as the vultures fly. VPN is the way to go. if / when she decides she wants it we'll get it set up through our ISP or a local third party.
     
  13. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,241
    My first roll of the dice would be to enable SMB1/CIFS on (all) your PCs, give them a reboot, see what you get?

    settings > apps & features > programs& features > turn windows features on or off.

    upload_2019-5-9_19-5-4.png
     
  14. liquidsoap89

    liquidsoap89
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +62
    Along with the share permissions, check to make sure the security permissions on the shared folders/drives are also set up correctly.
     
  15. Abacus

    Abacus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Torbay
    Ratings:
    +481
    Reset the network to default and restart the computer, then go into network sharing options /All networks/ and make sure all public folders are set for sharing, also setup any passwords or encryption as required, in addition make sure you switch on the media streaming option and set to your requirements.

    Hopefully this will fix your problem.

    Bill
     
  16. next010

    next010
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    10,904
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,143
    Right click on a folder
    * select give access to
    * select specific people
    * select everyone from drop down box
    * set permission level to read or read/write if you want to allow delete, manage data.
    * click on share

    Assuming no other network problems the shared folders should be visible in the explorer network section on the other Win PC's.

    If a share is active on a folder, remove that existing share before trying the above process so the correct permissions are applied, also the other PC's need file and network discovery enabled, it probably is unless something changed.
     
  17. Darren Heal

    Darren Heal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northwest Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Windows Home Server 2011 did the trick!

    Installed it last night on a brand new 220 gig SSD, got my user accounts set up, and the four 2.7 terabyte spinning rust units configured as a RAID5 storage drive, 8.8 terabytes effective capacity. WHS 2011 won't do RAID10 by the look of it but that's okay.

    Thankfully those discs didn't have anything on them :) Then I hooked up my 4 terabyte and 6 terabyte external RAID10 drives with all my music and movies on, and Robert's your father's brother I'm in business. I can now access the files from ant PC in the house.

    Crazy to think when I started messing with Pcs 30 years ago a 40 MEGAbyte hard disk was considered "big" and now I have a server in my home with 17 TERAbytes!

    Thanks for all your help chaps but in the end the Server software was the way to go for me at least.
     

Share This Page

Loading...