Windows 10 DNLA not seen by Network Devices

PlasmaNewbie

Hi,

I appreciate that this is NOT a PC support forum, but I'm asking the question here incase anyone else has had this issue. I will look elsewhere for answers and if unsuccessful, reinstall the PC from scratch.

I've been using windows media streaming for many years and on different PC's without a single issue. I've got about 20 flac albums that I've bought from bandcamp and a couple I've ripped. So this is not a major issue, its annoying me.

I've just got a new PC, which came with windows 10 preinstalled. I would normally do a re-installed, but there was a minor hardware issue (GPU), and by the time I'd got that resolved I'd passed the point where a re-install made sense.

The issue is, that I've set up media streaming (100% I've done everything required), and in the network setup I can see the remote DNLA client devices listed and they are allowed access. In media player the albums are listed and I've ticked the other devices box.

But my box is invisible to my devices. ie its not showing with no content, its just not showing at all. Media player is finding my Marantz ND8006 and listing that as a DLNA server, so I know the network is good and the devices are talking.... I still have the old PC, and I can't see any difference in setup...

I think the issue is not actually the media server itself, but a network issue maybe. I've tried turning off the firewall etc.

Has anyone else had a similar issue? As I've said I don't need help on how to set it up, I've followed that and its not working for some other reason! If anyone is interested the process is simple and is available here as well as many other places.

Any suggestions welcome :)

RBZ5416

Distinguished Member
I would never rely on Windows to serve content & always install proper DLNA/UPnP software. I still use Logitech Sqeezebox so use their LMS, but an alternative often recommended is MinimServer.