1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

winamp 5

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by steve k, Mar 28, 2004.

  1. steve k

    steve k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Anyone used Winamp 5 how good or bad is it comments please:confused:
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I had a quick go, it doesn't appear to be bit perfect so can't play DTS CD's, WinAMP 3 is bit perfect once you untick directsound.
     
  3. steve k

    steve k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    only want to use it to play music on my laptop so is it ok for that
     
  4. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    5 seems to be version 2 + 3, means plugins from 2 work in it like ASIO output and the MAD MP3 decoder plugin :)
     
  5. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    winamp 5 is a pretty good player - i never really found anythign wrong with it. I'm loving the simple interface of foobar now though.
     
  6. TEK

    TEK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never used to like WinAmp so stuck with WMP for years but I tried version 5 the other day and I have to say I'm very impressed and wont be going back to WMP
     
  7. Pootle

    Pootle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    media library is a lt better than before, most but not all V2 plugins work. Don't understand why Jeff thinks it isn't bit perfect wih the right plugins, (but then I only play 2 channel stuff thru it)

    I'd still rather have a media server with a web front end and a proper database to search in though!
     
  8. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Because it won't play DTS CDs, my RME doesn't need plugins to bypass the kmixer. Winamp 3 works perfectly, Winamp 5 doesn't.
     
  9. jwexqm

    jwexqm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    does anyone know if there's a HTPC skin for V5 with chunky antialiased text suitable for living room TV jukebox use?

    I've fallen in love with the media library feature on 5 and it would be superb if this were somehow navigable from my TV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...