Win XP Media Centre Edition

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Squirrel God, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've recently started using Win XP Home Edition and while I don't think it's as stable as Win 2K (seems to be a bit fussier with drivers etc), I like it.

    Windows XP Media Centre Edition is a new edition of Win XP that seems to integrate everything media-related within our homes, such as TV, DVD, hi-fi etc. It's being marketed as a complete home entertainment centre by Microsoft and comes complete with a remote control to control everything!

    [​IMG]

    Personally though, I like to keep things separate and the thought of a single computer controlling almost everything in my home is one that I'm just not keen on. Surely a single programmable remote like a Pronto is enough without having to stick a PC and WinXP with fancy apps in between the remote and your AV gear! The security issues this would raise bother me too.

    Wondered what everyone else thought about this? Is it something you are interested in or do you think it's redundant? :)
     
  2. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    42,100
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +7,640
    Just a hint for you.
    Have you tried clicking right clicking in a folder, go to view, then thumbnail. This is especially great for folders that contain pictures, also filmstrip is good as well, and you can enlarge pictures.
     
  3. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Feeling a bit thick today....thought this was a competition for some software...

    Ian Guinan
     
  4. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I dont like the fact that the only way to get the Media Centre Edition of XP is in a PC preloaded and precongigured, probably to ensure compatability.

    I fancy a go with it to see how well it works but wont buy a whole machine to have a go.
     
  5. kiwiranger

    kiwiranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have heard nasty things about XP Media Centre like "if you burn a DVD, it will only play on your PC, not any other player".

    Sounds like typical Microsponge to me.
     
  6. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fully explored all the options during the first couple of days I had it but thanks anyway Garrett. What I really like is that it will show a picture of the album cover in the folder when you rip music tracks from CDs :)

    I didn't realise that! :eek: It does seem that way reading the literature!

    Sounds similar to the content protection function in Windows Media Player. You can disable it for CDs so I would presume it could be disabled for DVDs as well...?
     
  7. bh

    bh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lost (no GPS here)!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Apparently, Microsoft have now backed down and DVDs burned on the Media Center PC will play on another Windows PC running Mediaplayer 9.

    They'll be manufactured by HP.:eek:
     
  8. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    yep, Media Centre has been mentioned before.

    really depends how expensive it is to get one of these boxes.

    could be a very simple way of getting a decent progressive scan dvd player, fully equipped with remote control and low noise etc.

    could replace a few Tivos too perhaps.;)
     
  9. bh

    bh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lost (no GPS here)!
    Ratings:
    +1
    US prices are between $1000 and $2000 without monitors.
     
  10. Rick1486

    Rick1486
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how do we get our hands on a copy without having to buy a new pc with it preinstalled?
    Also, are they including a cd in the price of the pc just in case of a reinstall situation?

    Cheers
    Rick
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,125
    There is no way of buying the O/S without buying it bundled on a PC. I'm not wure when it will be available in the UK though as they will probably have loads of problems trying to get the EPG needed for their hard disk recording utility. I can't imagine Sky allowing them to do that easily - also they would need to be able to decrypt the Sky signals - again not easy without cooperation with the providers. It may be some time coming yet.
     
  12. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you do a search in the web apparantly you can find the latest beta version and change a small file to allow it to run on a normal XP machine.

    Okay as a beta but this of course would be illegal to do when the version is officially released.
     
  13. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will have an installable ISO of XP Media Centre by Tuesday if anyone is interested in giving it a whirl PM me for det's
     
  14. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,125
    One of the main problems I can see with trying it out is that it will only be 100% tested on specific hardware components. I suppose if you can get an exact list of componoents used in the US computers then it may be worth a try...... but then again I'm not going to get in Microsoft's bad books - so I won't be doing it.
     
  15. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just going to test it out on a spare HD for fun ...

    My HTPC/HCPC is currently:

    Aopen AK77-8X-MAX w/ XP 2200+ 2gb DDR
    2x WD 180GB 8mb cache ATA
    1x Panasonic LF-D311 DVDRam/DVD-R
    1x NEC ND-1000A DVD+R/+RW
    Radeon 8500DV w/ NEC LCD1810

    Toslink out from PC to my Rotel stack, SVideo from Radeon to the 36"

    ATM just using it as an overpowered MP3/DivX machine really

    Got a 2mb ADSL from Griffin Internet into it, with wireless ethernet allowing two other notebooks and another PC to all play/share as needed and generally eMule driving any file gathering
     
  16. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    You guys should try myHTPC - it's free, you don't have to buy a whole new PC and it does exactly what it's supposed to!

    www.myhtpc.net

    I've tried MCE and I much prefer myHTPC!!!
     
  17. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    myHTPC... Not bad for an alpha... Weather feature is cute, if a little excessive. But as you said, it does what it's supposed to.
     
  18. originalbadboy

    originalbadboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bear in mind for anybody trying to install MCE ... it dont support PAL or the UK yet .. trust me , I have tried.

    In my experience .. as long as you have a PVR250 card a decent video and sound card , you should be able to get it working , as I did ... but as I said it doesnt support the PAL video standard at all the moment ...

    If you can get hold of Beta 1 of MCE 2.0 (which is floating around on the internet) .. then this does support PAL
     
  19. Rick1486

    Rick1486
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bad boy have you got a link to the beta you mentioned?
     
  20. originalbadboy

    originalbadboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    nope ... otherwise I would have downloaded it myself .... try the usual places ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice