Win 8 - would I benefit ?

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by advid, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. advid

    advid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +17
    .I use two laptops and a desktop PC (running Win7) all mainly for work and the 'more serious' side of computing ie. Word/Excel/Powerpoint/Photoshop ect. plus Googling when I need any info. Also a few forums that I use regularly (DS for instance)...
    I really only need an OS for opening a program as above and 'getting on with it'.... I do also have a Facebook and Twitter account but only use once a week - if that....
    Would an 'upgrade' to Win8 be of any benefit to me....if so - what does it do that I can't do or use now...?
     
  2. DavidT

    DavidT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +257
    If you already have Windows7 then there is no reason to "upgrade" to Windows8.

    David
     
  3. Reinholder

    Reinholder

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +53
    The problem with asking this question is that it's fairly subjective; to be perfectly fair to windows 8, there are moderate improvements over windows 7, but I don't think they're enough to justify the upgrade at this time - however, if you have a touchscreen, I'm sure it would make much more sense.
     
  4. Wild Weasel

    Wild Weasel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Medieval Warm Period
    Ratings:
    +720
    No. And don't get a touchscreen, they are ****.
     
  5. cougs

    cougs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +10
    Why?
     
  6. cougs

    cougs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've always thought that a decent touchscreen would be good, especially for a jukebox!
     
  7. cougs

    cougs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +10
    Or a Supplementary screen, to the main viewing screen? Select your media on it, play to main TV?
     
  8. Wild Weasel

    Wild Weasel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Medieval Warm Period
    Ratings:
    +720
    Your arm gets tired after only a few minutes use & you won't use it again other than to show off to friends/family once in a blue moon.

    Touchscreens are fine on a tablet, but on a desktop PC they are a pointless gimmick.
     
  9. 12harry

    12harry
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +388
    Win8 is all about MS catching-up with touch so they can work with smart phones and desktops, I understand.
    For keyboard users of Win7, I doubt the upgrade is good sense. MS worked well with Win7, it seems better than Vista.

    Has anyone used the new Gesture device? ...this consists of IR sources and maybe three cameras placed near the screen it can read all five fingers and work out what action you want - presumably it works on two hands as well.

    At present there is little software that takes advantage of this input, but it should eliminate dirty marks on the screen (as with Touch). I suspect it's the future, esp for TV control, but it would have to attach to the arm of the sofa, rather than the TV-stand . . . . . any other input suggestions?
     
  10. Malwi

    Malwi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As with any upgrades there are always subtle benefits that you do not see on the surface, I paid £25 for the upgrade a few months back and it is well worth it, though I donot have a touch screen interface.
     
  11. excollier

    excollier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Letterkenny (ex-pat from Staffs.)
    Ratings:
    +10
    Upgrade to Linux.........
     
  12. zt1903

    zt1903
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,439
    Have been using Win 8 on my desktop recently and, to be frank, it's a piece of s**t. Yes it boots up nice and quick but my desktop is not a smartphone and I don't want to use it as such.

    Horrible horrible interface for a desktop computer if you want to do other than shopping and Facebook!

    I'd rather go back to Win 3!
     
  13. 12harry

    12harry
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +388
    Ho Hum . . . I've read also that Win8 is a SmartPhone update, but reviewers haven't been so strong to say it's not for Desktops....
    I wonder that MS doesn't offer different layouts for the hardware - this would seem a simple solution, or is it possible zt1903 has selected the "wrong one"?
    I'm using Win7 (32) and that appears to be the equal( for stability, etc.), of Win XP which had a very good following . . . I guess every-so-often MS produces a "Quick-fix which doesn't quite get it right . . . . and they were caught unawares with touch-screens . . . although I understand these are being replace by finger/hand-gestures and the new software can learn the difference (ie hand movements) between different users.
    The advantage of this is there are many more gestures available in one-command than possible with "touch" which in screen Aps is either:- "contact" -or- none. . . . and can make the screen dirty.
     
  14. zt1903

    zt1903
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,439
    The only "wrong one" I've selected is Windows 8 full stop.

    MS have made the opposite mistake they made with earlier OS where they shoehorned a desktop OS onto mobile devices.
     
  15. Sonic67

    Sonic67
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    45,636
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +24,366
    I agree. I wouldn't go back to Win7 now.
     
  16. maryancell001

    maryancell001
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Placentia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just be careful before upgrading to Windows 8 as one of my friends has updated his system to Windows 8 and now he is facing problem with many of his software, but I think the requirement that you have mentioned here can be fulfilled with Windows 8, but be sure for any other software.
     
  17. Mr_Flash

    Mr_Flash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +297
    Download and Install classic shell. Give u a start button then
     

Share This Page

Loading...