• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Will we ever be able to edit recordings?

Mike710_0

Standard Member
Im pretty new to Sky HD but think theres definately room for improvement with the EPG.

One of the main things I think should be included in future updates is the ability to edit recordings thus freeing up space on the hard drive. Plus being able to delete unwanted bits (adverts etc) would be good.

Anyone out there think it'll ever happen? I doubt it myself but think it'd be good!

eddyr

Established Member
Do I think they'll ever let you edit out adverts? NO CHANCE! Perhaps if they wanted to seriously limit the money they take from advertisers... no, not going to happen...!

I think they key point here, besides the above, is that Sky+ was brought about not as a method of collecting all the shows you like, moreover it was to allow you to record things to watch at your leisure, and ultimately deleting them once they've served their purpose.
OK, now the hard drives are larger it does offer the ability to hold on the programmes for considerably longer than you might previously have done, but it's still not designed for what you're suggesting.

Another point to make is that Sky+ (I've not tried the new HD EPG yet) is/was sold on its simplicity- add editing functions or the like and for less tech-savvy individuals it suddenly becomes a lot more complicated. Remember the good old VCR? Always much maligned by oldies for being overly complicated, I grew up with them in the house and to be fair- they weren't wrong!!

AndyCob

Prominent Member