Will upscaling DVD player make a difference on Panasonic 42PX70?

S

Shimmie

Hi,

I'm completely new to this home cinema / av separates game, looking to purchase my very first set of gear.

I've decided to go with a Panasonic 42PV70 (same as 42PX70 but w/o digital tuner) 42" plasma screen. I'm now considering what DVD/CD player, AV receiver/amp, speakers and AV rack to go with.

On the DVD / music CD player front, having read a lot on this (brilliant) forum and in magazines over last couple of months, I'm wondering what to do.

I am considering going with a Denon DVD-1930, given both its apparant video upscaling and also audio CD playback abilities.

Thinking of combining this with a Sony STR-DA1200ES receiver, and maybe the Q Acoustics 1010 5.1 speakers.

My question is whether the Denon 1930 is the best option for this set-up? Will the upscaling ability of this player really make a difference when watching movies on the 42" Panasonic plasma? I have never seen an upscaling DVD player in action :-( so don't know what to expect!!

Also - do you think the Denon 1930 / Sony STR-DA1200ES is a good combination for the price?

Thanks very, very much for any help - amazing the depth of knowledge and experience there seems to be out there. Much appreciated by a complete novice.

Regards,

Simon (in Dublin)

Ronan1

Hi Simon,