• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.
  • Black Friday Deals
    Visit our Black Friday page for our frequently updated, hand picked deals on TVs and other tech.

Will this work ?

twitchor

Hello,

I'm now looking to move to 7.1 as getting a denon 2312,and the mrs want's smaller speakers on the walls..

So thinking of buying Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS 5.1 SE and adding them to the 1010i package I have, as funds are now running really low.

I was thinking of using the xs se's for the wall mounted ones.

Pic attached

Now I am by no means an expert so please say if it's a stupid idea.
Or if you have any other recommendations please say.

Got £800 to spend and the amp is £400

Thanks

Mike

Attachments

• 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 66

canada16uk

Hey I would use the Q acoustics for the front and the XS for the rears. Best not to cross match the fronts, and I think you will get a fuller sound from the 1010's up front, they were my first speakers and they are great.

twitchor

Hello,

Well this is where the main problem lies..

The 2 speakers that really need to be changed are the fronts.. got to agree with the mrs on this as since I have had the new tv on the wall which is a lot slimmer than the old, they do look out of place..

Just where the centre speaker is, it is recessed in the wall, so a little XS will look silly...

Hmm back to the drawing board.

Thanks

canada16uk

Doesnt the XS have a centre speaker ?

There is not a huge amount of 7.1 material out there so maybe 5.1 would be the best option.

Maybe post a pic of the livingroom so we can have a gander.

twitchor

Doesnt the XS have a centre speaker ?

There is not a huge amount of 7.1 material out there so maybe 5.1 would be the best option.