Will this scenario work?????

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by malcky, Aug 5, 2012.

1. malcky

malcky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi folks, im just getting into the headphones side of things and reading loads and loads and loads about things and probably confusing myself by looking into stuff too much so going to run a couple of questions by you all.....

I have ordered a pair of Shure SRH440 headphones along with the earpads for the SRH840 and intend to use it for music and films and also out n about travelling on trains/buses.

So for home use (films and music) it cant be connected to my AV Processor (Rotel 1068) as there is no headphone socket, so was thinking that I could connect the headphones to my Humax Freesat box via the stereo phono plugs using the relevant cable, such as:

NEW 25CM STEREO 3.5MM FEMALE TO 2X RCA MALE GOLD PLATED | eBay

This is what I want to know....can headphones be connected directly to a source like that without any damage to the headphones? or would I need to have a headphone amp to control the output level of the Humax box?

The good thing about this way of connection is the Humax has a volume control on the remote so if an amp is needed that can be installed in a fit and forget device when the amp is not being used when im out n about that is.

Second question is for the choice of amp....to which I have shortlisted the following: Fiio E6 or Fiio E11 or maybe even the Soundmagic A10 but that is pushing the budget a wee bit....which would be best suited in your opinion?

The Fiio E11 is top of my list so far.

Thanks

2. bow79

bow79

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +81