Will this HTPC work ?

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by gixxermenace, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. gixxermenace

    gixxermenace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am currently storing all my movies on my Buffalo NAS box and watching them on my 32" Sony LCD downstairs using XBMC on my Xbox 1 via component cables, this is working brilliantly but i was thinking about the option of building a Media Centre using parts i have left over from a Dell Dimension, it has a 2.2ghz P4 processor, 1gb RAM, Geforce FX 5700 Ultra card and pioneer DVDRW/CDRW

    Is it just a matter of getting a media case that fits the board (like the looks of the silverstone ones) and throwing all of my Dell Dimension inside and installing Windows Media Centre 2005 ?
     
  2. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    Be fine for SD and 720p playback, but will probably stutter with 1080p material.
     
  3. gixxermenace

    gixxermenace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    SD ?
    and i think my tv only goes upto 720p (although it says in the top corner sometimes 1080p but i have been told this is something to do with the TV upsampling or something

    think i am going to get a Silverstone SST-LC-17 Black, will this handle my dimension ATX motherboard and PSU ok ?
     
  4. gixxermenace

    gixxermenace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Has anyone got any history with Silverstone SST-LC-17 Black media centre case ?

    Also

    My NAS box is on a workgroup (not a domain) will i simply be able to map drives to it from Media Centre 2005 ?
     
  5. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    SD= Standard Definition
    I use a NAS on my LAN, just map a network drive, it'll appear as Z: which you can then add to MCE directory paths.

    That case is a desktop style ATX, which'll support ATX & MATX boards, and standard ATX PSU. However exhaust fans are 3x8cm, which'll mean it'll be louder than a case with a 12cm exhaust. You'll probably have to set to them 7v for added silence.
     
  6. gixxermenace

    gixxermenace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    is it a good case to get ? it looks good i think
     
  7. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    Good price, front panel is metal, full ATX...seems good. If you find the case fans a bit loud volt mod them. A PSU isn't supplied so add another £50 ontop.
     
  8. gixxermenace

    gixxermenace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    With the above spec htpc will it look better than my xbmc i am currently running at 720p on my LCD or should i just stick with that ?
     
  9. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    Original XB doesn't have CPU power for 1080p, also afaik a HTPC is quieter, and can be made as quiet as you like or budget allows. I don't have Xbox though.
     
  10. BiffBoy

    BiffBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,330
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +99
    True, you can only realistically upscale to 720p on a standard Xbox.

    But, you can replace the stock fan with a quieter model (with a bit of tinkering inside the box) to make it near silent. I like the option in XBMC to stop the internal HDD when you are streaming video/music over a LAN, as I am from a hidden NAS. Although I still have the stock noisy fan, just the HDD stopping makes a big difference.

    I will be using my XBOX w/XBMC to upscale DVD´s to 720p until I get my own HTPC sorted though, which will replace my XBOC, Humax Freeview recorder etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...