1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will this card work with mce?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by ciamcool, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. ciamcool

    ciamcool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, was just after a bit of advice, i have been to the windows website and had a look at what hardware you need for mce but i currently have a analogue card this one in fact http://www.techstore.co.uk/detail_39672.html and was just curious if it will work? as what i intend to do is just have a system at the side of me tv, that will play dvd's off the hdd and connect the analogue card to a sky digibox and record the odd programme which aint that often!
    these are my spare bits that i'm thinking of using :
    asus mobo
    xp 2800 barton
    2x256 mem
    9800 pro
    audigy 2
    seagate 200gb hdd
    Hauppauge WinTV PCI FM Analogue Terrestrial TV Tuner C-Video And S-Video Capture Nicam Stereo
    mce remote(awaiting order if tv card is ok)


    and it's getting hooked up to a 32" widescreen
    sky digibox
    digital 5.1 amp


    will it all work as this is the first thought of putting it all together :)

    TIA ciamcool
     
  2. deksawyer

    deksawyer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +132
    I'm not sure if this is supported, but I'd be tempted to spend a wee bit more and get the PVR150.

    There are MCE drivers for that and it'll do everything you want.

    www.scan.co.uk have the OEM version for £44.

    D.
     
  3. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    No, that card will not work. For MCE you require a card that does MPEG2 encoding hardware. So a Hauppauge PVR 150 MCE is a very suitable card.
     
  4. ciamcool

    ciamcool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheer's for the info :thumbsup: but just one more quick question what is the difference between the 150/250/350 ?? and which is the best for the job :cool:
     
  5. deksawyer

    deksawyer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +132
    Well the 150 is cheaper and has a newer chipset...........I have one which I used for around a month before getting a Nova-T freeview card and it performed OK, but the picture quality is far superior from the Nova-T (as you'd expect).

    If you're planning on using it with a set top box, then the 150 is more than up to the job.

    D.
     
  6. ciamcool

    ciamcool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    you are using the nova t? is this the one www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/in...lay=both&filter_order=rating_useful&offset=50
    also you say you get a better picture quality through the nova t than the pvr150 why? as i would have thought the signal from the sky digibox would have been better than the signal you get from a roof arial ?? if you were me and buying the bits which one would you suggest ? and can the sky digibox be hooked up to the nova t if i cant get a good signal from the roof arial?? i dont want to say money is no object but i want to get the "best" card for picture quality and one thats not gunna slow me system down but i dont want to buy a £100/£150 card when a £50 card will do the trick :cool:
    cheer's
     
  7. deksawyer

    deksawyer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +132
    My apologies for the confusion. :clap:

    The Nova-T is a freeview card and records the mpeg2 stream direct via the aerial to the hard drive, with no encoding. It can't encode the output from a set top box.

    Analogue cards like the ones you've mentioned can accept an s-video/composite or RF signal from source, and then encode this to your hard drive, so they're the ones you're looking for.

    As I've said, you won't go far wrong with a PVR150.

    www.scan.co.uk and www.ebuyer.co.uk have fairly good prices as well. (no affiliation!).

    D.
     
  8. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    The PVR-350 and PVR-250MCE both have the same chipset and will give the best picture the PVR-150 is a cheaper card the picture quality is not as good as the PVR 350/250 on SVIDEO. the NVTV card is also worth considering if your going to use SVIDEO but remember you will need to buy a RGB > SVIDEO converter from maplins as your SKY box unless its an old grundig will not output SVIDEO.
    Best card for RF or Composite is the ATI 550.
     
  9. ciamcool

    ciamcool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  10. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
  11. ciamcool

    ciamcool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
     
  12. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    To get the best picture quality you will need to buy a RGB> SVIDEO converter from www.maplins.co.uk because your digibox wont output in SVIDEO then from your gcard to your TV again you will have to go with SVIDEO you will not need a converter for your gcard as long as your TV accpets SVIDEO you can plug your gcard stright into your TV.
    Up to you how many tuners you want PVR-500 is 2 tuners PVR-350 is single haveing a dual tuner single card uses less power from your CPU and obvioulsy takes up 1 slot only.
    Both good cards.
     
  13. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +210
    MCE will not support EPG for Sky and Digital Terrestial at the same time so I would doubt that that card is supported.
     

Share This Page

Loading...