Will they ever fix the WAW lag?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by BandofBrothers, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. BandofBrothers

    BandofBrothers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +174
    I started a thread ages ago, but it's so bad I thought it deserved another thread.

    Are they ever gonna fix the appaling lag on cod WAW?

    I'm "this" close just to saying screw consoles with their pathetic player hosted servers and go pc only again like I used to be.

    :mad::mad:
     
  2. Rafe

    Rafe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +598
    Indeed.

    I find that lag on COD WAW is only apparent late in the evening when the Americans are online.

    When all the AVF's have been in big games i.e. Ground War the lag is seriously bad.

    Domination and games of the like suffer serious lag with lots of players.

    Annoying to say the least and it does ruin gameplay!
     
  3. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Only if they get their own servers.Until then we have to rely on an individual to host.If it happens to be someone half the world, away its terrible.
     
  4. conrad

    conrad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    i never have lag so i am happy lol :)
     
  5. RedAl

    RedAl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +3,988
    Me too, I dont lag anymore on WAW than I did on MW. In fact, I went back to MW last night for a bit and the first game was a joke. The lag was so bad that I emptied a whole clip into another player and not a single bullet registered despite being bang on-target. The swine then turned round and dispatched me with ease. I think far too many people are misty-eyed over MW and make it out to be perfect online. I`ve had no more games ruined by lag on WAW than I did on MW.
     
  6. Luteus

    Luteus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +31
    They will never fix it, the lag is about the same from cod4 to WAW its just more noticeable on WAW due to the guns.

    I don't really get how the connections work as whenever i am host and one specific friends in the room he always gets 1 bar!! Granted we are 100 miles away but thats stupid we end up having to quit cause he cannot hit anything, neither of us have any connection issues just when i am host, bizarre.
     
  7. mugglesquop

    mugglesquop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +10
    i set the "search preferences" to very local (or whatever it is) and the lag hasn't been so bad
     
  8. justbiteme2k

    justbiteme2k
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +2
    As stated, you need to set up your search preferences... makes a huge difference to me.
    It's the guys in the US i hate playing... they're always half a second in front... when you watch the replays it's sooo annoying seeing your man run round a corner and NOT shoot even though on your screen in real time you've unloaded a clip into some dudes face!
    grrrrrrr
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  9. Loftusrd1980

    Loftusrd1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +92
    Set my preferencies to local and not experienced lag on WAW, MW on the other hand :mad:

    My kill death ration is much better on WAW than MW and I believe this is down to the fact I get less lag now :thumbsup:
     
  10. justbiteme2k

    justbiteme2k
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +2
    exactly the same for me... shame MW haven't implement the search preferences :(
     
  11. Chrisoldinho

    Chrisoldinho
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +267
    I was going to set locale only but for me anyway when I tested it. It made no difference :(

    Chris.
     
  12. SilverSpider

    SilverSpider
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +51
    Keep trying it mate, fleeting between the normal setting and locale and you should notice a difference .... I certainly did and am missing this feature now that I'm back on CoD4.
     
  13. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Agreed, especially when we're paying £ for online gaming, id expect to see at least some dedicated servers
     
  14. justbiteme2k

    justbiteme2k
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +2
    Re dedicated servers... Well maybe if you were paying £300 still like the PS3 but since the console can now be found for around £100 (or less) i don't think it's too much of a bad deal... then again £30/year from the millions of Live subscibers must go towards something?!
     
  15. W0LFIE

    W0LFIE
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,028
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +964
    ^^interesting - you contradict yourself.:rolleyes:

    I've set to Locale Only and still get lag. I don't so much get connection trouble like MW. But I do get the 'I shot him - he shot me 1st' syndrome.- big time. I don't think this can be irradicated IMO.
    Sometimes I have 4 bars and get lag still, I can sometimes see the bars change to 3 and have no lag??:mad:. I believe there are so many variants the best thing to do is ensure your NATS are OPEN, you choose LOCAL and if possible have direct ethernet rather than wireless. Maybe switching ISPs but what a ballache that is...just for a 1 game.
    Good thing about Local is you don't get stuck with yanks like you do on MW.:thumbsup:
     
  16. justbiteme2k

    justbiteme2k
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah i can see how you thought that... my bad :oops:

    I was referring to having it set to locale or not or playing MW:smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...