1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will Sony let you use two of its mp3 players?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by vtah236, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. vtah236

    vtah236
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seemingly a daft question... but consider Sony's reputation for being at the extreme end of DRM opinion. Previously an mp3 virgin, I think I have worked around many of the software and firmware issues with my HD5, thanks mostly to this forum.

    But I was thinking of buying one of these newfangled Sony bean things, because my wife thinks they're cute. So, the question is: will Sony let me use both on my PC?

    Bearing in mind ripped CDs belong to both of us, can I simply transfer some of my existing library (built up for my HD5) in Sonicstage to a new bean? Will I have to re-rip it all? Will the bean sit useless and redundant in its box because Digital Rights Management prevent my wife and I from sharing our music?
     
  2. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    It should work.

    With Sony DRM it is the player which is locked to the computer, not the computer which is locked to the player.
     
  3. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yes. I've had an MZ-RH10, NW-E507 and an NW-HD5 plugged in to one PC at once. Worked. Well, sort of. Sonicstage didn't like the library on that PC so it used to crash every once in a while when I imported new music but as far as recognising the players, no problems.
     
  4. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're (wisely) using SonicStage 3.2, you can now remove all that cumbersome DRM nonsense from your files (if your tracks are in ATRAC format, that is). Search this forum for a user called Ryzir, who's posted some hugely beneficial advice on how to do this. It'll take a wee while, but once done, your ATRACs are your own. However, I don't think it works with MP3s ...
     
  5. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    MP3s don't have DRM anyway.
     
  6. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do they not? Even once imported into SonicStage? I thought it 'coated' them in DRM on importing? Seems I'm mistaken ...
     
  7. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    It will keep them in the MP3 format on the PC, but when you transfer to your player it places a .OMA wrapper on them. So on your computer they are still .MP3 files, regardless of whether they have been imported into SS, but when transferred to the player they become the .OMA.
     
  8. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Knew this bit, ta. Just thought the wrapper happened a bit sooner in the process.

    Thanks! :thumbsup:
     
  9. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,858
    Hmm...I thought that even if you store as MP3 on your PC ( As I do) when you convert to Atrac3+ and transfer to your player a copy of the converted file is stored with wrapper in place at \SonicStage\Optimized files?
     
  10. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think you're spot on here. Any 'optimizing' SS does seems to leave a copy in the Optimized Files folder (which I moved to a more sensible place, incidentally, along with all my ATRACs - couldn't stand that deep-drill folder structure Sony set as default!).
     
  11. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,858
    Aye mine's renamed to \SS\Sonybollards!
     
  12. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just redirect everything to My Music\ATRAC3Plus\ ... and then into album folders (deleting Optimized Files after every usage, cos I don't really need it and SS just recreates it on demand anyway).
     
  13. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,858
    Was holding off clearing my cached Atrac's down as it takes best part of a day to re-convert should I re-format the Player but have all my MP3's sitting on a slave 40Gb disk and have now only got 1Gb left.

    Might be a visit to Ebuyer for some more disk soon :)
     
  14. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Getting off topic here, but I'm the other way about: got all the MP3s on an external 120GB HDD, and all 4004 (and counting) ATRACs on the main 120GB PC HDD.
     
  15. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,858
    Good point...

    vtah236 know one's sure, I'd suggest trying to borrow someone else's player and plug it in and see what happens!
     
  16. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    Either way, your ATRAC and MP3 files are DRM-wrapped once they go into Sony players. You can't extract the files. But as long as you keep the originals handy it shouldn't be a major issue. That is, unless you want to load your own music from the player to a PC... which is possible with practically any other player including the iPod.
     
  17. shadowritten

    shadowritten
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree that the Sony DAPs' big downfall is the inability to transfer songs back to the original PC (without deleting them!). I know Ryzir says it's possible with ATRACs, but when I tried after using a Restore with SS Back-Up Tool, not only could I not transfer back, I also found that SS had literally DELETED from my HDD all those tracks I'd forgotton to include in my last full back-up! Which meant a day's re-ripping!
     
  18. vtah236

    vtah236
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the advice. I did think Sony was shooting itself in the foot for a while back there.
     
  19. diverse

    diverse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use an HD1 and HD5 on the same pc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...