Will Sky Go do what I want.

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by PSM1, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. PSM1

    PSM1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    26,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,440
    I have a smart TV in the kitchen which the kids watch at times. It only has freeview on it so the channels are limited. We have Sky in the lounge so they can watch all the kiddies channels etc. Now I see that Sky Go is free for all users and consistent with your Sky subscription. If I load the Sky Go app on one of the kids Hudl tablets could I then connect this to the TV via HDMI and stream Sky through the tablet and up to the TV? This may be a quick and easy fix to get Sky into the kitchen without having to pay for multiroom etc. if it does work.
     
  2. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Dunno, but Sky do disable Airplay on Apple devices so don't be surprised if it's disabled as soon as you connect the HDMI cable...
     
  3. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +221
    HDMI is disabled on Android devices as well.
     
  4. snaithg

    snaithg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +623
    What about a laptop running Windows 7. Disabled or NOT disabled?


    Graham.
     
  5. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897


    Do you really need HD?

    Try it!
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2014
  6. snaithg

    snaithg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +623
    Thanks Neil,

    I'm not in a position to try it just now! But I will definitely give it a go over the next few days.


    Graham.
     
  7. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,304
    I have used sky go in the past from a netbook to a 42in LCD with no issues. only over vga and not hdmi though. sound was sorted by another method
     
  8. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Sky Go on a PC via HDMI would work fine.
     
  9. Smurkenstein

    Smurkenstein
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    I use sky go from my pc to my tv via DVI to HDMI. I'd hardly call it HD though - more like DVD quality - but that's a different topic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...