1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will my US Gamecube 'step-down-converter' work with the US Xbox?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by tk2001, Feb 1, 2002.

  1. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    I've just ordered an Xbox from dvdboxoffice.com and hopefully it will arrive today (was sent via DHL).

    However, I won't be able to play it straight away because I don't have an Xbox step-down-converter for it.

    Will my US Gamecube 'step-down-converter' work with the US Xbox?
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    XBOX has power consumption of 100va(watts) so you need a transformer rated at least that high to be safe

    Gordon
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +615
    I tried my xbox with a step down i had been using on my jap ps2 but it wasnt enough. didn't harm it, the xbox just cut out after about 30 secs.
    Had to use a bigger one to get it up and running.
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Extended use with low power transformer can cause damage. I know of one person who caused a failure of the chopper ic in the power supply within the XBox by doing this. Microsoft won't supply the part in UK just now....Best to be on the safe side...

    Gordon
     
  5. brattle

    brattle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aye, the price of 150 watt + stepdowns has dramatically increased at importers in recent weeks. Get at least a 150 watt if you are buying a new one.

    www.goblingames.co.uk are selling 300 watt stepdowns for £45 plus £6.99 for next day delivery. They're not advertised on the site, so email Carl at sales@goblingames.co.uk . 300 watt may be overkill, but they have inputs for two consoles, which is nice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...