Will my HD TV display HD programmes?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Adz_1001, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. Adz_1001

    Adz_1001
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi there, I recently purchased a Samsung 22" (model: LE22A455C1D) with built-in freeview, what I was wondering is since some channels are beginning to show programmes in HD will i be able to view them in HD using the built-in Freeview? If i'm completely misunderstanding something please let me know.:smashin:
    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    There are no Freeview HD programmes yet - the first are scheduled for the end of this year, but of course schedules can slip! But even when there is Freeview HD, the tuner in your TV won't be able to cope with them, and you (along with the rest of us) will need a separate box compatible with the new system.
     
  3. Adz_1001

    Adz_1001
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ah thanks, another question for you, is HDMI noticeably better quality than HD component input? What exactly is HDMI?
    Thanks Again
     
  4. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,724
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,296
    Assuming that all other things are equal (similar setup, similar ability in the equipment) and a good quality component connection, then, no.
     

Share This Page

Loading...