1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will M&K S-150s blow up my Yam Z9!?!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Ru55, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. Ru55

    Ru55
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mids
    Ratings:
    +0
    ARRRRGH! Someone please help!

    Iv finally decided that M&K 150s are going to my new Front left, right and center!

    Iv listened to them but the hifi store didn’t have my amp (Yamaha DSPZ9) so I had to listen to them on a different amp! :eek:

    But iv been assured my Z9 will do them justice, though feel im only being told this as they want the sale! My Z9 is rated at 6 - 8ohms and the M&Ks are 4ohms and I hear are very thirsty for power!

    I spoke to Yamaha technical today and his words were:

    'SHOULD BE OK'

    Errrrr, ok! Doesn’t fill me with confidence!!!

    Has anyone used the M&K S-150s with a Yamaha Z9 or similar ohm rated amp???

    Will they sound better being used on an amp with the correct ohm rating!?!

    Pls help guys!! :lease:
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +891
    Hi

    The Z9 is THX Ultra 2 certified so will be fine with the M&K's. To pass this certification it has to be capable of driving speakers with impedance loads down to 3.2 Ohms. :)

    Yes, they do like power but the Flagship Amps like the Z9, Denon A1SRA etc will all run them well.
     
  3. Ru55

    Ru55
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mids
    Ratings:
    +0
    OWwwwwwwwwww!! Good news!!!

    Thanks for ya reply Jase
     
  4. 30CenturyMan

    30CenturyMan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +47
    I wouldn't rule out adding a power amp at some point. Passive M&Ks love power.

    Benefits of more power will include smoother sound and increased dynamics. :)
     
  5. Ru55

    Ru55
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mids
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 150s would have to impress with my Z9 alone, cus if I buy them im not going to be able to afford a power amp for a long time!!
     
  6. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The S-150's are great speakers Ru55 and IMO some of the best i have heard for Home Cinema, the Z9 is a very capable amp and will have no problems running them.. :thumbsup:
     
  7. Ru55

    Ru55
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mids
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers recruit

    Your kit list is mind blowing mate!! Did you sell your wife and kids!?!
     
  8. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Ru55 - Fortunately i do not have a wife and kids !

    I did used to have a Z9 though and loved it, great amp :smashin:
     
  9. JohnnyScot

    JohnnyScot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    254
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Russ,

    Hopefully my list of kit below will answer your question!

    I really struggle to run my Z9 at a volume higher than about -10dB for any sustained period of time, just too loud! So the Z9 had ample headroom left when driving the 150s.

    Enjoy - I know I do.

    John
     
  10. cliveuk

    cliveuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Folkestone, UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    hi RU55, i have a yamaha RXV-1500 connected to a pair of dynaudio audience 52`s and they are 4ohm and it drives them without any problem at all.
    i had the same problem i spoke to yamaha and they said it would be ok just to make sure i selected the lowest setting on the amp which is 6ohms
     
  11. Ru55

    Ru55
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mids
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers guys!

    Cliveuk, when I spoke to Yamaha they told me to leave my amp on 8ohm setting!?! :confused:


    JohnnyScot Ya put my little mind at ease!!! Great kit list bet you didn't have to sell your wife and kids like recruit though! :)

    Cant wait to get me 150's now, goin to try n' distract the staff with a shiny suite and run out the store with one of their M&K subs! I hear there heavy, so my plan might not pan out! :thumbsdow
     
  12. cliveuk

    cliveuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Folkestone, UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    well i was told to set it to the lowest setting by yamaha :rolleyes:
    this makes sence i suppose because the amp is driving 4 ohm speakers so i guess it would find it easier if set to 6ohm, id double check with yamaha or maybe someone here can offer some help
     

Share This Page

Loading...