1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will It Work? Need Answer Quick!

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by drdaredevil, Jun 9, 2004.

1. drdaredevil

drdaredevil

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, I am new to all this home audio shabang. Anyways, I have in my bedroom a Philips stereo. I like to blast the music really loud and I am all about the bass. My buddy wants to sell me his subwoofer (never opened) for really cheap because he lost the receipt and doesn't want it anymore. Click HERE to see a link to bestbuy that displays the same exact sub... The problem is that my stereo head unit does not have a sub out. I have an extra set of speaker inputs and I have heard that you can just feed the sub into there. So, is the sub worth getting to be able to hook it up into a speaker input, considering that I am getting the sub cheap. All I want is the little extra something that will give me more bass... Let me know quick because I do not want my buddy to sell it to another person. Also, the sub wouldnt be drawing any power from my head unit because it has its own amplifier so that might help...

2. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    It won't work without pre-outs. You need a dedicated subwoofer output or a set of normal stereo pre-outs for connecting to additional equipment. Recording outputs won't work (ie. those for connecting to tape or MD recorders) because these aren't volume controlled.

Hope this helps, a little more info on your stereo and we could provide a more definitive answer for you. :)

3. jeff-o

jeff-o

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has speaker-level connections. So, you can just plug the stereo's speaker outputs into the sub, and from the sub to the speakers. The sub will handle the crossover stuff.

Right?