Will I need a new Power Supply Unit?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by peneau, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. peneau

    peneau
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Everybody,

    I'm looking to replace my old graphics card in my 4yr old Dell Dimension 4600 P4 3.02ghz computer, with an ATI Radeon X1950 Pro graphics card (AGP).

    The PSU currently in the comp is only 250 Watt, I suspect I may need to replace this unit with a more powerful one to run the card, am I correct? and if so is it possible to replace the current PSU withouth thrashing the motherboard, and can anybody recommend a PSU that is compatible with this system.

    System Chipset is Intel 865PE

    Any help greatly appreciated
     
  2. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,726
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503
  3. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    The one Razor linked to should work. I have a Corsair HX520 in mine and whilst it didn't fit perfectly, it all worked in the end, despite being a tight squeeze.

    If you don't want to spend as much, then the Coolermaster iGreen series should fit without problems.
     
  4. peneau

    peneau
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated
     

Share This Page

Loading...