Will I Lose Apps after Jailbreak?

philn67

Standard Member
New here and to iphone, I want to jailbreak my 3gs 3.1.2 but will I lose all my apps purchased from itunes? Am I right that after a sync and backup that after jailbreak I just re sync to get it all back?

Also what is this problem with tethering I have heard about?

Thanks in advance.
 

spookster

Active Member
You need to restore to take the iphone back to a pre-jail break state. All your official apps are linked into your itunes account, so nothing is lost.
 

philn67

Standard Member
Thanks for the reply. Any knowledge on tethering? I have read that using rain with 3.1.2 means it becomes tethered and rain must be launched first, or is this an old issue?
 

funkyspider

Well-known Member
If your phone is currently on 3.1.2 then you can just run BlackRa1n on your PC to jailbreak in this case you wont loose anything on the phone.

If you are on a previous version then it's not the jailbreaking which will affect the apps, its the upgrade of the firmware in the first place, but like after any upgrade in iTunes you just restore from a backup.

Tethered jaibreak affects all 3GS manufactured after around october when they changed the bootrom and you're right you would have to reconnect it to the PC and rerun BlackRa1n to boot the phone again. There's lots of info if you search this forum or google for the term tethered jailbreak, but thats about it really.
 

philn67

Standard Member
Thanks funkyspider. Maybe I'm confused.....rain only has to be rerun to reboot? Not each time the phone is switched off and on? Would I lose my contacts after jailbreaking?
 

funkyspider

Well-known Member
By reboot I meant whenever the phone starts up from scratch ie whenever you see the black screen with the white apple logo at the moment. So when powered off/on, the battery runs out causing loss of power or when the phone does a full reboot.

You will not loose any info or apps, either jailbroken apps from cydia or app store apps when you run or rerun blackra1n to restart.
 
hi guys im new here. i got da iphone 3GS 4.0.1 and ive been thinking 2 jailbreak it, but im not related with all this terms,whats da difference between back up, restore, restore from back up and sync? and secondly will i lose all the purshased apps after jailbreak?
thanks
 

badgerman

Active Member
hi guys im new here. i got da iphone 3GS 4.0.1 and ive been thinking 2 jailbreak it, but im not related with all this terms,whats da difference between back up, restore, restore from back up and sync? and secondly will i lose all the purshased apps after jailbreak?
thanks
No need for a new thread.

No apple purchased apps are linked to your account so redownload anytime and restore from back up.

Unless on old baseband u can't jb 4.x yet. Give it a week or so and prob can do thanks to comex.
 

The latest video from AVForums

Podcast: Reported HDMI 2.1 bugs, Audiolab Amp & LG LED Projector reviews + Best of the Month
Top Bottom