1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will HD DVD improve picture on non HD TV's?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Burnard, Mar 1, 2005.

1. Burnard

Burnard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,Im new to the the HD subject but i understand that a TV needs to support HD to utilise the signal but will it yeild any improvement for non HD ready tv's?
    I have just purchased a Sony KF-42SX300 LCD rear projector and im a little upset that this TV has no support for it.
    Does the new Sky HD also only run on HD inputs or can we hook up to a scart for a better feed than the present crappy Sky feed thats full of digital noise?
    Anyone shed a little light?
    Thanks all.

2. AML

AML

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +229
    I think you have a fairly good TV there so even if you dont have the full necesary specs you should still see a huge improvement over analogue TV.

The only problem will be wether you can actually conect a digital HDTV tuner to your TV or not!

In Japan we can conect HD tuners to our sets by component so it works on almost any fairly new TV.
    However, in the UK ive been hearing that Sky will be using HDMI as its main conection, so unless your TV has an HDMI conection then it wont be possible, and no adapters will ever come out bcoz HDMI uses HDCP encryption which cant be avoided.

My advice is to dump your TV in a couple of years (or now while its still new) and get one that does have the propper resolution and conections necesary for HDTV and future formats such as HD-DVD and Blu Ray.

I dont think scart will ever be an option. I think scart will die very soon :devil:

3. Burnard

Burnard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0