Will genius bar fit new (already bought) RAM?

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by christam, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. christam

    christam
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +278
    This might be a silly question but does anyone know the answer? I've got the Crucial RAM sticks ready but can't do much with them .....

    I simply can't loosen 4 of the screws on my new 15" MBP and don't want to risk permanently damaging the screw heads. I need to make an appointment to change the iPad 2 which has developed backlight bleed, so thought I might as well try to get both jobs done at once.

    Thanks in advance for any info :)
     
  2. PeterH988

    PeterH988
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +206
    I had the self same problem, took it to the genius bar, asked if I needed a special screwdriver and could they loosen the screws for me, and the took it out the back and swapped out the ram for me, free of charge.

    This was at their discretion, though, they sometimes charge for it.

    Try it my way, just ask if you can borrow a screwdriver. (Or get a hot girl to do it for you!)
     
  3. christam

    christam
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +278
    Thanks for that. I thought I had the right screwdriver, as 6 of the screws came out without a problem, but your tactic sounds like a good one :)
     
  4. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Just be honest and only ask for them to loosen the screws for you and explain that you intend to replace the RAM with that already purchased elsewhere. Let them make the offer of fitting and you will be fine.
     
  5. christam

    christam
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +278
    Thanks. I'll make sure to have the RAM in a pocket when I go to see them :)
     
  6. CH_Peter

    CH_Peter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Alcester
    Ratings:
    +331
    It is, by the way, dead easy. The back comes off and the memory location is obvious and they just pop in and out. I've done it on two MacBook without issue.
     
  7. christam

    christam
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +278
    Thanks. Yes, I thought it would be easy until I couldn't get the back undone :blush:

    Anyway, I've got 2 back-to-back appointments tomorrow at West Quay, to sort out the stuck screws in the MBP and the iPad, so hopefully the nice Genius person will offer to fit the RAM at the same time :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice