• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Wii questions...

E

eonone

Basically Im new to the Wii, got a PAL Wii and got a few games, also Im using a component cable in 480P mode.

1...Ive noticed a couple of games going into Interlace mode automatically, any reason?

2...Is there any difference between a NTSC game and a PAL game? Does the NTSC game run faster without borders?

3...I tried my orignal NTSC Gamecube Twilight Princess and it didnt work, any reason?

4...Do I need a Gamecube pad to play gamecube games or can I use the Wii Remote?

Thanks in advance

Mark Botwright

Distinguished Member
AFAIK games are region encoded.
As for GC games, you'll need a GC pad and don't forget a memory card.
Not too sure about the interlacing so i'll let someone else answer that one!

RichKS

1...Ive noticed a couple of games going into Interlace mode automatically, any reason?

There have been a lot of threads about this and elsewhere. Progressive mode isn't properly implemented on PAL Wiis. Having said that, some US users are also complaining that their displays drop signal occasionally in progressive mode, but I've never seen that with mine. (using Themescene HD70 projector)

2...Is there any difference between a NTSC game and a PAL game? Does the NTSC game run faster without borders?

I can't really comment about the PAL Wii, but the US one I have works fine and without borders. I think most PAL games implement a 60 Hz mode these days, but wouldn't be the right person to ask really (haven't owned a PAL console since the SNES).

3...I tried my orignal NTSC Gamecube Twilight Princess and it didnt work, any reason?