wii into Sony DAV-S 550

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by mdma, Dec 31, 2006.

  1. mdma

    mdma
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the moment I am connecting my wii into the TV using the RCA cables. This go into the side panel of the TV. In order to hide these cables and make use of the PL II sound, I thought about using the All In One. I connected the RCA cables in to the back of the Sony, selected Video 1 and turned to the normal DVD AV, but this gave no picture (although I got sound throught the speakers). I have Sky running through Video 2 Optical.

    Is it possible to route the console through the sony?
     
  2. nry

    nry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Carlisle
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hmm, if you can, ditch the RCA cables....either RGB Scart or component will give a much clearer and sharper picture, especially on larger TVs.

    I am guessing the all-in-one box will not convert one input type to another, i.e. if you input the Wii via the composite lead you cannot output to your TV via anything other than another composite lead: how do you connect your Sony to your TV?
     
  3. shirazkhan_172

    shirazkhan_172
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need the monitor video cables since normal wires do not work on mine...
    I can't see it being sold anywhere though..
     
  4. mdma

    mdma
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the moment, I am just using the out of the box cables.

    I connect the Sony to the TV via a Svideo to the (svideo) scart on the tv. So Im I right in guessing this is where the problem is..
     
  5. mdma

    mdma
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    when you say monitor? do you mean into the monitor plug on the Sony, as I thought that was output ? :)
     
  6. nry

    nry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Carlisle
    Ratings:
    +23
    I would think so, the Sony will not convert the composite Wii lead input into an S-Video output. You either need to plug the Wii into the Sony via S-Video (which you can get I believe) or look at other connection options.
     
  7. mdma

    mdma
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks alot :) at least i know where to start now!! :)
     
  8. druidvideo

    druidvideo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    The svideo out can only be used to output DVD, not AV1/2 inputs.
     
  9. kjt2004

    kjt2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +165
    mdma

    Not sure what you are trying to do here but as druid quite rightly says the svideo is a dvd output only

    You will only have the choice of outputting via composite (not the best solution)

    Surely it would be best to use direct output from the Wii to the TV for picture whatever it may be ie scart component etc and use the sony for sound white and red audio RCA phonos as it seems you are already using optical /RCA link on video 2

    I think ?

    regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...