Wii and Panasonic th42px60.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by radionx, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. radionx

    radionx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,758
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Crewe, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +124
    Hey guys Merry xmas.

    I've had a wii for xmas i've hooked it up2 my Pansonic Th42px60 via Scart out of the box. But the picture dosent look the best. The picture looks a little grainy and colors seem to bleed into each other.I know the wii aint hd graphics but thought it would look better. Any 1 know why?
     
  2. CFCCFC

    CFCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Toshiba 37WLT68 - mine looks fine so it's not the Wii, I've got mine on composite. Maybe get hold of a component lead and give that a go?
     
  3. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    set it to pal 576i till you can get rgb scart or component, composite is poor, but ntsc over composite is awful
     
  4. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    The scart block you get with the console is not a true scart. All it's doing is allowing you to connect the composite cables to a scart connection. You would be better of with a proper RGB scart cable or component if your TV has the option for it.
     
  5. Hades

    Hades
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    11,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Yorkshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +1,184
    I have the PX600 and have it connected via composite at he moment. To be honest I think its a cracking picture. So god knows how big the improvement will be when I get the component lead from Play this week :)
     
  6. oasismark

    oasismark
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    13,656
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +3,710
    Are play DEFINATLY getting them in this week?

    in store or online?

    and an official one?
     
  7. oasismark

    oasismark
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    13,656
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +3,710
    Just relised something, both these connections use the same sound input!!!

    How can i get both sound from 360 and wii.

    can you buy splitters??
     
  8. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    yes its a bummer isnt it, just buy some cheap couplers/splitters from maplins or your local electronics/music shop

    should be around a quid each
     
  9. Jameszee

    Jameszee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a the same Panny as you and also was disapointed with the PQ over the fake scart! :(

    I ordered a third party component cable from Gameplay which arrived just before crimbo, i have to say the picture quality is much better now, sharpness and colour are well improved! Well worth an investment! :thumbsup:

    Only downside now is that I have to swap component cables everytime I want to play XBox 360 or Wii, but it's not that bad! :smashin:
     
  10. pixelated

    pixelated
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +94
    I have the PX600 and currently using Composite like you are. The picture quality isn't so bad but it isn't great either. You will see a marked improvement using RGB, and an even bigger improvement using Component.

    My HMV in Manchester had the SCART cables in stock the other day, but no component... I'm waiting until I a component cable as I know it'll look better. Then again as it isn't HD anyway it's tempting to save component for my 360 and opt for the SCART... choices eh!!
     
  11. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've got scart RGB on a Sony Bravia LCD. Everything looks really nice and then I boot up Zelda. I've seen a composite v component screenshot of Zelda around and its chalk and cheese. Hence I'm going to order component now :) RGB is good but on Zelda I think component is going to look much better.
     
  12. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,774

    I have PX60 and a Wii connected by component so I have just bought the MS VGA cable for my 360 and I find that it gives a better picture than the component cable it replaced.
    Deffinately worth it to free up the component connections for the Wii.
     
  13. KinkyAffro

    KinkyAffro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,508
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +164
    I have a 42PX60 and have connected by RGB scart. The pq is perfect for what we want from it and taking into consideration the wii graphics ain't exactly HD/Xbox league anyway.
    Didn't want to start getting into the expense of component splitters etc.
     
  14. Geoggy

    Geoggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    in that number
    Ratings:
    +298
    another PX60 owner here.

    buy a component cable for your wii. i got one from GAME and its a great picture.

    i have my 360 connected by VGA. the 360 sound is hooked up to my amp so i get sound but it is a pain that the tv has only one sound input for the component and vga connectors.

    theres a component lead for sale here:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=446408
     
  15. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,774

    I believe you can get an audio splitter from Maplins for only a few pence.
    Then you can plug both 360 and Wii into the PX60's one audio in.
     
  16. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Even with a component cable, dont expect it to sharpen up zelda too much though :(
     
  17. robbster

    robbster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
    I'm running the wii through a madcatz component cable on my px60 and am noticing a few faint lines going vertically down the screen. They can be seen on certain backgrounds more than others. I'm hoping the official one when it turns up fixes this. Also the image seems sharper through 480i than 480p with the px60.
     
  18. robbster

    robbster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
    I have tried through component, composite and now rgb and the lines are visable on all the sources. They are most noticable on background colours like grey and are faint static vertical lines all about 2cm apart. Would anyone be willing to have a look please if they have a px60 to see if this is happening on all the panny plasmas. Cheers
     
  19. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    No lines on my PHD8 via gameplay component.
     
  20. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    I've got a PX600 and a Mad Catz component but I've never seen any of the vertical lines you mention,my set looks better in 480i too. This is because the internal processing in the panny plasma's is better than the Wii.Also there is no such thing as 480i on a plasma as it's a progressive display so having 480p options on games machines is a waste of time when using the new panny's.

    I've also tried Gamecube and PS2 games in 480p mode and they also looked worse than 480i so it isn't the component cable if you were worried about that.

    Robbster, could you please let me know how the official component looks like next to the Mad Catz on you PX60 as I might have to get that one is it is better.cheers.
     
  21. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    In that case, wouldnt 570i look the best option?
     
  22. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,774
    I thought that as well but after reading this thread I tried out all 3 settings and 480i is the best followed by 480p and then 576i.
     
  23. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Ill have a play around, although initially i was very dissapointed with the picture on zelda, im now used to it and enjoying the game.
     
  24. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    Ditto, when I put Zelda on I had to dig the composite cables out just to make sure the component cable was working right as it looked like it was running composite.

    Composite didn't look a great deal different on the actual graphics but the map,icons etc were really bad.It just looks worse than Gamecube games that I can remember.

    As regard to 576i, this looks the sharpest on my Panny PX600 but it's only 50hz and I don't want to revisit those bad old days.
     
  25. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I found the colours too look really washed out and poor on zelda via component, 480p. Looks fine on Wii sports though, nice and bright.
     
  26. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +713
    I found that too but things like the map and the targeting reticule looked really colourful and sharp as if most of the game was just a gamecube port but some of it was enhanced for Wii, very strange.
     
  27. robbster

    robbster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
    hi korum got hold of an official lead today and I have noticed not one bit of difference from the madcatz one its replacing so that was money down the drain hehe.
    I went over to my cousins house to have a look at his wii setup to his lcd via 480p and guess what, the lines I see on my display were visable on his too so i'm guessing the wii has a problem with its output. He did say that he had never noticed them before me pointing them out to him. I think you would really have to know what your looking for but they were sure there. Now another thing thats been bugging me is the poor display coming from progressive scan on the console. I've got other devices that display progressive whether it be 480p or 720p and none look as bad as the wii does. What I have noticed is that the poor soft blurry display on 480p compared to 480i doesnt effect all menus and games. For example going into the forcast channel brings the 480p picture to life as if its a different connection, much sharper and clear. Play wii sports and you will see the picture is sharp and also wii play. But look at the main wii menu or go into the mii channel and you will see how bad it can be. I tried this on my cousins console too and it showed the same thing as I was starting to think maybe mine was faulty or something. At first I thought maybe they were using some kind of filters on the menus to keep them jaggies down but why do I not see the same effects in 480i? I now think the 480p output on the wii is buggy and needs looking into by nintendo.
     
  28. avolee

    avolee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +734
    i am running my wii on a 26" sammy via rgb scart and have noticed the lines you mention, thought it was just me at first, tried the setup on a crt and the lines dissapear, so must be something to do with hd tv`s. most noticeable on the wii sports start screen before entering the game menu, but have noticed it elsewhere. ahh well at least its not me.
     
  29. robbster

    robbster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
  30. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,371
    Got it connected to my Goodmans 1080p LCD and it looks great over composite, got a Component cable on the way from Play Asia so that should improve things even more.
     

Share This Page

Loading...