1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WiFi SIP phone...?

Discussion in 'General Tech & Gadget Forums' started by HiZ, Aug 22, 2005.

  1. HiZ

    HiZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Anyone any experience of these. Which ones are good/bad.

    ZyXEL seem to come up a lot in Google searches
     
  2. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    To be honest you are better off with a DECT phone plugged into an ATA, they have many more features and much better battery life.
     
  3. dejongj

    dejongj
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beautiful South
    Ratings:
    +4,481
    I definitely agree with the battery life, though are not that confident about more features....The phones themselves may have more features, but network SIP integration is not as user friendly as the dedicated ones in my experience...Especially if you want multiple handsets individually addressable and being able to transfer between them...Although for those advanced features you will get into Asterisk territory....
     
  4. thedoc

    thedoc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering about Wifi SIP phones too.

    What is the sound quality like, compared to a DECT and ATA adapter setup?

    For a cheaper solution I have setup my wifi PDA with X-PRO softphone software, and with an earpiece it works reasonably well.
     
  5. mucca_D

    mucca_D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +522
    I have also done this using both softphone and skype for ppc.

    back on track- I have tried the old ZyXEL and although I would love to say how good it was, i can not , as it was bad, poor sound and droped off my WAP all the time.

    I can not tell you how good the new ones are as I have not tried one, but I am getting a PAP2 ATA on the weekend to plug into my dect phone, as I think it is easy to just have the one phone for both POTS and VOIP
     
  6. thedoc

    thedoc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ? one DECT phone to do POTS and VOIP...

    ...being short of time, and a tad lazy to run a search on that ATA...

    how does that work then?
    :confused:
     
  7. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    Since when did Skype support VOIP on a pda? It supports typed chat but not voice yet.

    Have you found another version to this: http://www.skype.com/products/skype/pocketpc/ :confused:

    edit: My bad. Sorry. It supports MAKING calls but NOT receiving. :oops: I'm gonna go take "Learn to Read Skype Web. Lesson 1"
     
  8. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139

    Hey Doc, I got one of those D@ULPhones that runs Pots and Skype. This works rather well and actually has two diferent dial buttons, one for pots and one for Skype. I would recommend this phone to anyone ... although, i'm a bit confused as to if it does other VOIP suppliers.

    The docs say no but, as the phone connects it says to me:

    POTS OK
    SKYPE OK
    VOIP Not Connected

    This by nature suggests it does to me! At the very least, you could set it up in your VOIP software as the defaults speaker and Mic and use it that way. Not ideal but it is a start.


    *edit: I've not actually tried to test it with a.n.other voip supplier as i am happy with Skype. Link to Olympia Dualphone
     
  9. mucca_D

    mucca_D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +522
    and lesson two for you :thumbsup:

    NOTE the red Voicemails. as in it voice mail not sending or recvieing voice CALLS :suicide: :D :)

    Lesson Three for me LOL@me the PAP2 ATA does nto have an FXS port so I can not plug in the telephone line as well as the phone and the LAN cable.

    This means again the need either for a phone with two lines one to plug into lanline and one to plug into pap2 for voip or using two phones which is not what i wanted. :rtfm: :suicide:

    oh and in short an ATA device lets you plug a standard phone into your broadband connection to use VOIP

    D
     
  10. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139

    Oh dear ... im going to take the afternoon off work and drink lots and lots of beer as punishment for not noticing the bloody obvious! :rotfl:


    Cheers Mucca, I feel all "Enlightened" for today :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...