1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Widescreen screen distortion

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by simonwa, Nov 20, 2001.

1. simonwa

simonwa

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am fairly new to the world of widescreen and was wondering if anyone could give me any advice. I own a Philips 28pw6615. In all modes i.e tv, DVD, playstation I am getting a slightly distorted display shape. The screen on the left hooks off and down at the edge of the screen and the left hand edge is slightly concave, whilst the right hand side is perfectly aligned. This is most noticeable when using a playstation due to the black border around the display area and various game menus which are symmetrically presented - highlighting the "bent" display area, though the problem is with any form of display. I was wondering if a bit of screen warping like this is fairly normal/acceptable, or whether I should have a clearly symmetrical presentation? The tv got fantastic reviews and I would have thought by now this problem wouldn't really exist. Also, when using 50/50 teletext and tv mode ( ie vertical split) the teletext is so out of focus at the edge of the screen that it is barely ledgible. Are these normal problems or should I have it looked at? Any feedback would be geatly appreciated.

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Ahhh....the joys of Cathode Ray Tubes.