1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Widescreen CRT monitor as TV

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by HitmanIP7, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    705
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +20
    Ive been looking into getting a new widescreen CRT TV for use with my HTPC, but was thinking last night that perhaps I could get a widescreen CRT PC monitor and use that instead.

    I still prefer watching DVD's and TV on a CRT.

    So far Ive found one, the Sony GDM-FW900. Cheapest Ive found it new is around £1200 though!

    Anyone know of any similar?
     
  2. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Seen them go on ebay for about £300 before, usually the silicon graphics branded ones.
     
  3. Gazebo2

    Gazebo2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    These monitors come up occasionally on Ebay - the last few have gone for between £100 and £500 depending on condition. Some have been by oems such as SGI & Sun, but are essentially are the same Sony model or an earlier Sony model - just search for widescreen in the monitors section. They also weigh 40kg or so, so expect to collect!!

    I was thinking of one of these to replace the 22" monitor, I'm currently using, what has put me off is that they are 16:10 widescreen (or put another way 14.4:9), so displaying an undistorted 16:9 image the image would require cropping or black bands at top and bottom.

    I was surprised to see that my ATI card supported at least one 16:10 resolution (1920*1200) without resorting to Powerstrip, but don't know what DVD playing software or the Nebula software would do if the signal was output at 16:10 resolution. Would any of the experts out there like to enlighten me?

    Martin
     

Share This Page

Loading...