1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Widescreen broadcasts & logo placement

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Joe Pineapples, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +846
    Ok, this is not the end of the world or anything, but having just entered the world of widescreen tv, i've noticed that the channel logos are now placed nearer to the top-centre of the screen. I can understand the reason for this - to allow for its placement on a 4:3 screen - but wouldnt you think the bods at skydigital would be clever enough to allow for user preference (system settings) of either 16:9 or 4:3, and shift the logo accordingly. Although i hate logos full-stop, i much prefered it when it was placed in the corner, out of the way a bit more.

    Dean
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Channel idents are generated at the broadcast source and the digibox had no control of them.
    The interactive logos that are generated by the digibox should adjust themselves to suit the display ratio being used.

    Bottom line, the subscription and license fee payers are of secondary importance when compared to the marketing bods at virtually every UK broadcaster and we are all ignored when it comes to what the advertisers want/desire/demand!
     
  3. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
  4. FlimsyFeet

    FlimsyFeet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    An extreme solution: set the STB to 4:3 P&S mode, and select the zoom picture mode on the TV. Logos are gone!

    (But so have the top and bottom bits of the screen..)
     
  5. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +846
    *UPDATE*

    Heres something interesting to do with my initial thread question. On 'E4' the other night, they were showing a program called 'Teachers' (dont watch it or the channel, but was flicking through), and i noticed that the broadcast was in proper widescreen format (16:9, not stetched etc), and yet the 'E4' logo was tucked right up in the left-hand corner. I'll have to check next time on the tv upstairs (4:3) and see if the logo is in the same place.

    Dean
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Yep seen that before on E4, they put the logo in the correct place for a 16:9 broadcast which means it's not shown (Or most of it anyway) when viewed with a 4:3 setting on a digibox.
     

Share This Page

Loading...