1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Widescreen 1680x1050 resolution - possible on graphic cards?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dealmaker, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys,

    Hope someone can help.

    I'm going to configure a Dell Optiplex Small Form Factor chassis as a PC for use in my home network and want to equip it with a Widescreen monitor.

    The monitor I've been looking at has a native resolution of 1680x1050 - with a DVI input (has VGA as well)

    I need to buy a new graphic card for the P.C anyway so I want to get one which is DVI equipped -, is Low-Profile (to suit the Dell slot) AND can run at this particular resolution.

    So the question is - will most of the graphic cards on the market run at this, somewhat peculiar resolution (I'm used to running at standard 4:3 resolutions)?

    Or will I need to use some sort of software to force it to do this??

    Many thanks
     
  2. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    ATI drivers support that, no problem.

    Don't know if you're looking at the Apple 20" display, but that's the same resolution. So it's probably pretty well supported.

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  3. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1

    Carl,

    Thanks for that - just hope I can get an ATI card, in Low Profile, with at least 128mb and a DVI output!

    It's actually a Dell TFT I'm looking at - but yes it's the same resolution.

    Thanks
     
  4. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +376
    I'm running that res to my apple 20" at the moment from my radeon 9600se with no probs ...

    Jon
     
  5. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Jon,

    Thanks - so does the 1680X1050 appear as a standard resolution in the drop down menu/scroll bar thingy?

    Thanks
     
  6. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +376
    Was already there when I connected new card and loaded drivers into XP ... seemed to default to that ... guess dvi handshaking really works !!

    Jon
     
  7. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1

    Jon,

    Great thanks! Hope mine does the same!
     

Share This Page

Loading...