1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why only Yamaha and Denon?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Brox, Apr 2, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Brox

Brox
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had some experience with Yamaha receivers having owned the 590 and 592 RDS models and recently demoed the newer 620 model but they were all surpassed by my Harman Kardon AVR500. I've not heard Denon but are willing to believe they are very good.

But these two brands and to a lesser extent Sony are all you ever hear about on this chat site - does anyone own or listen to anything else?

Harman Kardon gets very good reviews in HCC but you don't hear them mentioned at all, can't understand why.

Is it all hype, is it just self fullfilling so that since Denon and Yamaha are always mentioned people assume they are the best.

I'd be interested in hearing from someone who has demoed or owned a number of differant companies kit.

Where did this reputation for Yamaha and Home cinema come from was it What HiFi? i'm not always convinced that they are unbiased in their reviews.

2. Phil Hinton

Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7,192
    I guess to answer your question you have to go back in time.......

In 1986 Yamaha released the first Amplifier with Dolby stereo for use with Stereo video. Then again in 1989 with the introduction of dolby surround, the first to use a dedicated centre channel.

Denon started (I think) in 1990 with a prologic amp.

No other manufacturers offered such features for Home cinema.

Yamaha first then Denon. It was a few years before the likes of Kenwood, sony etc entered the HC scene.