1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

why is widescreen not full screen?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by nisnos, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    hello

    even though i have a widescreen 16:9 44 inch lg dlp my dvds still have the obligatory letterbox bars and some tv programs have stuff i cant see as if its spreading off the screen - this i noticed on my old tv too but that wasnt widescreen.

    chers in advance :thumbsup:
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Most DVD movies are not 16:9 but are in fact 2.35:1, this the native aspect ratio of most movies when shown in the cinema hence why you still get a letterbox effect. You're not the first to ask this nor will you be the last.

    Read the following http://www.dvdweb.co.uk/information/anamorphic.htm
     
  3. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    cheers i appreciate that.
     
  4. nnicol

    nnicol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you are using a digital set top box make sure it is set to 16x9. Make sure your DVD player is also set to 16x9 in it's menu. If you are watching analogue TV it 4:3.
     
  5. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    tv wise im on telewest cable how do i set that up or is it pre set

    thanks again
     
  6. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,883
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +495
    Digital cable boxes have setup menus too. One of them will be to pick the aspect ratio. You'll have the choice of 4:3, 16:9 and 4:3LB (letterboxed). If you have a 16:9 TV that's how you should set it. The other two are for how you want to watch on a 4:3 TV.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  7. Lion

    Lion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +160
    if the black bars really bother you the LG has a zoom function that opens the picture up to fill the screen.
     
  8. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    cheers all
     

Share This Page

Loading...