Why is volume quieter on sky sports HD?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by philip birdi, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. philip birdi

    philip birdi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I noticed this while flicking between sky sports1 and sky sports HD1 during the liverpool vs chelsea match the volume is quieter on the HD channel:confused:
     
  2. Xan

    Xan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +65
    Hi Mate,

    It's a common problem on Sky channels with a Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack.

    No way around it I'm afraid.



    Regards, Xan.
     
  3. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,421
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    I have just been from the sky festival in manchester and was in the sky hd tent. They had the same problem the guy was ripping his hair out trying also to get the sd and hd to sink so they could show off hd.

    Im sorry but I still cant see that much of a difference!
     
  4. Dogma21

    Dogma21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +16
    It's getting really annoying now.

    While watching Liverpool v Chelsea when it went to ad breaks which are in SD the volume was much louder than the match in HD.

    I find I have to keep adjusting the volume all the time depending on whether I'm watching SD or HD prgrammes.

    What is going on?

    :mad:
     
  5. CG121

    CG121
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    TBH I've never known $ky to be able to cope with 5.1 sound.

    I mean, just listen to the mix they use for voice overs at the end of films....
    Instead of feeding this through the centre voice channel, they feed it via front left and you can barely hear any if it..

    Although you would expect a discrete sound stage from 5.1, their is no excuse for continuously low levels of audio where the viewer has to ramp up the amp just to hear the centre channel, let alone the effects channels.

    The problem is the 5.1 encoders at Sky have adjustable levels allowing them to set them how they like and facilitate the inclusion of voice overs (albeit on the wrong channel Sky.....!)

    If the original audio source from movies/programmes was allowed through unmolested, the problem of poor levels would most likely vanish.

    As for live broadcasts, these are entirely at the mercy of the sound engineers at the event (and any subsequent encoders en route)

    I've said it before when most of the movie channels were PCM encoded and only a few were AC3 encoded, movies that were played in DS over an AC3 encoded channel (in DD2.0) were MUCH quieter than the SAME movie played in DS over a PCM channel....
    Ergo, the DD encoders are set incorrectly.
     
  6. JamesS

    JamesS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +56
    Had this problem myself:thumbsdow driving me and the misses both potty (ok i'm halfway there anyhow;) ), seems stupid but gets to the point where prefer watch either the footie or movie on NON HD channel, not what was intended.
     
  7. Henryslater

    Henryslater
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    You can probably adjust the volume of your L & R speakers in relation to the volume of your Centre via your amp settings. (i.e. switch them down, then you can turn the 'whole' of the volume up and get a better sound.)

    Not ideal i know - but it does help....:rolleyes:

    compromises, compromises.....
     
  8. CG121

    CG121
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Whats the point of a THX optimised setup if you have to ****** about accommodating a company that has little understanding of 5.1 sound...
     
  9. alpine101

    alpine101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +109
    I don't know whether this is just Sky's problem since it affects the BBC HD channel as well. The sound level on this is always lower on my Humax compared to HD channels on other satellites.
     
  10. byron1313

    byron1313
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here - volume on all HD channels needs to be 50% higher than SD. Movie are the worst as some bits are so quiet and others so loud. Would this be better if I used a 5.1 amp rather than straight to my Bravia ?? Even through a Denon amp (not Dolby or anything) it fluctuates badly
     
  11. richardr

    richardr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +49
    Isn't that the point? They are giving us a high dynamic range, rather than processing all the sound to make it all sound 'loud'.
     
  12. trailer

    trailer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +231
    Its just your amplifier.

    Try listening to a Sky radio channel in Pro Logic then flick it to stereo.

    Its exactly the same. The soccer in HD is transmitted in 5.1 but the ads are in stereo.

    It's a function of the processing I'm afraid!!
     
  13. Noggin1980

    Noggin1980
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,175
    They at least need to turn down the volume of the adverts then. I don't mind having to turn the volume up to watch the cricket but the adverts can be offensivly loud if you had the cricket on a decent volume.

    Changing the volume when changeing channel isn't too big a deal but having very loud bits every 10 mins is irritateing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice