Why is 1366x768 the native resolution of most LCD panels?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Lizarazu_1, Aug 8, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Lizarazu_1

    Lizarazu_1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could any one of you HDTV mainiacs explain why lots of LCD panels have native resolution 1366x768 ???

    What is realy interesting is why it is imposible to find LCD pannel with native resolution of 1280x720 ???

    Pleas do not answer that the reason is overscan !!!

    Most of HDTV material is overscan free so the reason lies elswere

    I would be very greatfull for resonable answer
     
  2. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +444
  3. Lizarazu_1

    Lizarazu_1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah i read it before it dosent explain anything and its mostly about overscan which is ofcoures non sens !!!!!

    There is no ocverscan in full HD LCD TV with full HD materials played on them.

    I have Samsung LCD LW46G15W 46" native 1920x1080 and i dont see any overscan with 1080i/p materials. Besides you can chcek on PC that they have the exact resolution of 1920x1080.

    So the storry that they had to make panels with 1366x768 because of overscan is non sens. Fot instance you don`t have full HD flat panel with resolution over 1920x1080.
     
  4. PeteD64

    PeteD64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +48
    I think it's because maufacturers are obsessed about supporting XGA res (1024x768) from PCs & just made the 16:9 equivalent of that.

    They don't seem to have grasped that modern graphics cards are capable of displaying lots of other resolutions including 1280x720. e.g. the max res supported by Philips displays is 1024x768.

    I agree overscan should have nothing to do with it. If that was the case wouldn't they produce something with less resolution not more so it didn't display the overscan bit?
     
  5. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,481
    actually HD screens do overscan, look on the early BBCHD threads about the logo on screen, infact because of overscan the BBC moved its logo inwards!

    1366x768 exists because LCD's are made from PC technology.
    1024x768 is the lowest HD compaitble format but it is 4:3, so in order to make it 16:9 you divide 768 by 9 (85.3r) multiply by 16 = 1365.3r hence 1366x768 (which in turn is a cock up because 1366 isnt divisible by 8 so isnt PC compatible anyway!).

    im sure this has been covered in another thread tho :suicide:
    now that LCD tv's are mainstream 1080 sets can be made
     
  6. davidac

    davidac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +36
    I thought the only HD TV standards were 720 lines and 1080 lines with 720 being the minimum required to be HD ready. I am not aware of 768 lines being a TV standard, but rather a PC standard. I guess they started making 768 line displays because there were no HD sources to use them with other than PC's. Now there are HD TV sources it makes no sense since whatever TV standard you use a 768 line screen will have to scale it. Maybe it will all be sorted when 1920 x 1080 becomes common place.
     
  7. Lizarazu_1

    Lizarazu_1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Overscan was a problem of old CRT HD TVs its history now.

    You can`t explain 1366x768 native resolution as a something which comes from computer becouse standard computer is 1360x768 not 1366.

    I think that this resolution has dominaited the market because it is chipest and most cost-efective in production.

    Money this is the reson !!!
    not compatibility becous it is incompatibil with PC
    not overscan because there is no overscan in LCD TVs
     
  8. marinecommando

    marinecommando
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    254
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +3
    The philips 37pf9830 and 42pf8930 both have 1920 *1080 panals
     
  9. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,481
    Incorrect, look at other threads
    If you read what i said, it was standard computer res was 1024x768 which is 4:3 aspect, for tv they had to adapt it to 16:9, i even gave the calculations so please read my post again
    Perfectly true and i dont dispute that, otherwise all the tv's would of been 1920x1080pixels which is a native PC resolution anyway. ever notice the lcd tv threads people state if they try to run their desktop at 1280x720 the screen goes green or pink? its because its not a proper pc resolution, yet when they try 1920x1080 it works
    please :rolleyes: have you even got an LCD tv? it certainly doesnt sound like it. take a look in many threads and you will see it.
    if you persist with this stubborness and i can be bothered il even link to them!
     
  10. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,481
    Sorry mate missed this post of yours.

    what i was saying is 1366x768 is the lowest PC COMPATIBLE format in order to be HD ready as you can fit 720 lines in a 768 display. i dont think i have ever come accross a LCD tv with 1280x720 lines, and any lcd tv i have had even crt monitors dont accept the pc resolution on 1280x720 (because its not divisable by 8) so they had to make the tvs have more pixels and to fit within the scope of pc format 768 and widescreen format 16:9
     
  11. PeteD64

    PeteD64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +48
    I meant the max res signal they accept from a PC is 1024x768. Bit crazy that their 1920x1080 panels won't work at that res with a PC in my view.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice