1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why get a more expensive model?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Bernie Steak, Oct 1, 2005.

1. Bernie Steak

Bernie Steak

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    Please be gentle with me, I'm new to universal remotes.

:rolleyes:

For my needs, I'm happy at the moment with the one for all 6 in 1 controller. I've an LCD TV, Cambridge amp, Sky+ box, and a Yamaha DVD player. At the touch of a button I switch on the TV, sky+ and the amp. I can do everything I want.

Then, at the touch of another button I can switch on the DVD, change the input source on the TV, change the amp setting to DVD, switch off sky+.

Later I can switch it back with another button, or shut it all down.

Now, I REALLY like the look of the new Harmony 525 and I hear a lot of good things about logitech, so I've been planning on purchasing one of those, but what do these more expensive controllers offer, in terms of practicality, that the £20 controller I have now doesn't?

2. Bernie Steak

Bernie Steak

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    No logitech salesmen on here then, which I guess is a good thing?

;)

Seriously, I'm wondering what the advantage of the more expensive remotes is, figured this is the (only) place to get honest feedback?

3. John

John

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,653
    If your happy with your OFA and it does everything you want , then no , you don't need a new one .

If you want a new toy however ......
    :devil:
    John

4. Bernie Steak

Bernie Steak

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    Well, err. Yes I do.

;)

And my wife does have small hands, so the 525 should be an easy sell as it's pretty compact.

Just a bit concerned I'll get less for more?

5. czzer

czzer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: