1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why doesn't my X-BOX...?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by roscopervis, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. roscopervis

    roscopervis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    near llanelli
    Ratings:
    +11
    ...Play CD-R's, RW's or any other copied media. I would have expected it to at least play CD-R's and RW's! This is proving to be a bit of a pain.

    Also how big is the standard hard drive?
     
  2. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    You will need it modded - Microsoft had to try and protect themselves from making pirate games easily

    for info try

    www.premodded.co.uk
     
  3. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    You dont necessarily need your Xbox modded to play CD-RW's, depends what DVD drive you have in your Xbox. I have the Phillips drive in mine which happily plays copied CD-RW's. The Samsung drive is the best one which'll play most things you can throw at it.
     
  4. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
  5. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +929
    Mine also plays anything but it is chipped and according to the above link has a samsung drive.
    I think the standard hd is about 8gb?
     
  6. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    yeah standard is 8gb. i also have the 10gb seagate that they used for a few xbox's, so i got lucky there too lol
     
  7. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,419
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,761
    Mod it, chuck in a bigger hard drive and then FTP stuff across. Doesn't matter what DVD drive you've got then :)
     
  8. roscopervis

    roscopervis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    near llanelli
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yep sounds like a plan!
     

Share This Page

Loading...