1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why do my region 1 discs cause a flicker?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dude1971, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed that I have a flickering in the top left and bottom left of my TV whenever I play region 1 discs. It's very apparant on brightly coloured images eg Toy Story, Dinding Nemo. I thought that it was the shielding from the speakers on the telly, but it's only on region 1 discs. Region 2 is fine.

    Just got a new DVD player and the problem still remains. Could it be a dodgy cable in the scart lead?

    Any ideas?

    Regards

    Dude
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    What kind of TV and what connection (RGB, S-Video etc) do you use?
     
  3. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    are u outputting them as PAL?
    check the system your DVD player is using some have AUto select others must be manually switched
     
  4. Gizmo 76

    Gizmo 76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    The Apps are Calling :-S
    Ratings:
    +522
  5. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panasonic 28inch widescreen (tx-ps1 I think), tried both scarts (1 is RBG).
     
  6. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it didn't like the Pal/NTSC settings, would it not output it in black and white? Do I have to force it to NTSC for optimum picture clarity?
     
  7. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    not just clarity but correct geometry, colour and speed.

    Also some players handle the conversion better then others.

    So yes its best to play in its native format, unless your TV does not support US NTSC then the picture will be black and white
     
  8. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, set the DVD player (Panasonic e60) to NTSC but this didn't help. The TV will play NTSC as it plays it back in colour, I just have a flickering in 2 corners of the screen which is annoying.

    Any other ideas? I would phone Panasonic but I reckon that once I mention region 1 they will say that they don't support multi-region DVD players, although I think it's a TV issue.

    Please help, as I won't be buying region 1 discs in future if this is unfixable!

    Regards

    Dude
     
  9. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    It might be one of those incompability issues (which shouldn't happen): try switching to S-Video or, if worst comes to worst, do composite. At least for testing - and report back then.
     
  10. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I changed it from video to RGB and back again but it made no difference.

    Would the scart lead be the next thing to check? I've already changed from av1 to av2 but that didn't help either.

    Regards

    Dude
     
  11. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    PAL running at 100 Hz, NTSC at 60Hz? The corner flickering is probably a PSU issues on the TV.
     
  12. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Power supply on the telly? Is there a cure for this? Is it a fault?

    Regards

    Dude
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    If its still under warranty then its worth a trying to getting it fixed. It might be internal shielding rather than the PSU itself. My Aconda TV suffers from this a bit when in 60Hz VGA mode, everything perfect apart from a slight ficker in the bottom left hand corner. I never bothered tying to getting it fixed, it only used as regular telly TV these days.
     
  14. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My first thought was the shielding of the speakers but why would this problem only manifest itself when watching region 1 discs?

    Regards

    Dude
     
  15. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    It's because its using a different refresh rate makeing it behave differently. If you have a games console with a 60Hz mode you should see the same thing.
     
  16. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any thing that I can do to fix it, or shall I contact Panasonic? TV is less than a year old, bought it from Safeway, but I think that they will not be interested when I say that my region 1 modified DVD player has problems.

    Regards

    Dude
     
  17. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    No, it would be a static distortion, not a flicker. Switcht to blue screen (AV input with no signal) - if there are any green or pinkish/reddish patches at the borders then there is a magentic field present.
     
  18. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I'm confused by the term 'blue screen'. Do you mean switching to AV without the DVD player being on? The only interference that I see is region 1 discs, not region 2, not when it's just the DVD-Ram logo etc.

    Regards

    Dude
     
  19. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to take everything out and plug it all in again from scratch as I'm now getting interference from a ghost image and I've unplugged the TV aerial but it's still there!
     
  20. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    sounds like your getting loopback down the scart, the only way to really cure this is to use one way scarts. I think.

    hopefully a pro will come and help
     
  21. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using £20 scarts from Richer Sounds, will take everythign apart and see what cables I've got ans then mix and match. Might invest in a QED Sqart for £42 from Play.

    Still no real idea why my region 1 discs flicker though :-(
     
  22. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Yep, any AV input selected with no signal present will usually produce a blue screen on your telly.
    Then it's easy to see if some magnetic field is present.

    Ok, got that. Was just referring to the magnetic distortion which was mentioned. It might not apply in your case (but to be sure you can check as explained above).
     
  23. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Reiner

    No blue screen, just a black screen and no distortion. Nothing on teh logo when the player boots up, just when it recognises a region 1 disc.

    I'll take it all apart this weekend, as I need to hook another DVD player up anyway, and swap the cable around and see what happens.

    Regards

    Dude
     

Share This Page

Loading...