Question Why do my nvidia TV blacks get blocky when watching through the amp, but not direct connection to TV

Lordsteggu

Novice Member
Hi,

This is my first time here and I have just purchased a new home theatre setup.

I have a few issues that seem to stem from the amp, but I'm not 100 sure.

Setup
yamaha rx-v581
Dali zensor 5
Dali vokal
Dali zensor 1
Panasonic tx-50cx680b
Nvidia TV

Here is my issue.

Before I got the setup my nvidia TV was connected directly to my TV via hdmi, now it goes through the amp.

The issue I am having is that the picture quality has gotten worse. Primarily the blacks, they are blocky and extremely prevalent. This only happens when viewing shows on the TV through the nvidia TV through the amp, direct hdmi to TV and the issue isn't there.

I'll add I watch shows both through Netflix and plex, the local files are 1080p dts, good quality.

I have attached two Images comparing the different connections, whilst I'm here is there anyway to get the better image smoother. Its still not perfect, I'm new to all this home theatre setup stuff.

Many thanks,

Daniel

Attachments

Violator

Is the video set to pass through or straight on your AVR? because that's what it needs to be.

Lordsteggu

Novice Member
Hi,

The amp doesn't provide any upscaling, so it should be default passthrough / straight right?
The only straight I see on my AVR is for sound, and that just sets it to stereo sound basically.

mbmapit

Check to see if going through your amp is changing any of the settings (compared to direct to TV) in the menu of the shield TV or inside Plex, it may be changing resolution, HDMI colour range etc. If not check page 104 in your manual which refers to setting the correct video output.

CARLOS

Distinguished Member
Have you tried any different HDMI cables as you are adding a 2nd one in the chain ?

Last edited:

Hixs

Distinguished Member
The amp is most likely adding extra processing.

CARLOS

Distinguished Member