1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why Do I Need A Power Amp?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by RockerBug17, Jan 8, 2005.

1. RockerBug17

RockerBug17

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone! I am new here to AV, as well as to Pro Audio.

I'll cut right to the chase; I play guitar and sing in a band. I talked at a man at a local community college and he recommended I purchase a power amp. Now, I have no idea what exactly I would need, or why I even need a power amp. He explained it to me, but I didn't really comprehend.

Thankfully, I have found this place, where I can find out everything I need to know about Pro Audio. Thanks for the help...

2. number 8

number 8
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new to this aswell so hopefully I won't be the only one to reply.
    I find that by drawing parallels between computers and audio equipment I get a better understanding of why I might need two seporate units to perform the function of what one can do. For example a software/internal modem is an internal component in your computer and farms out a lot of its processes to the Operating System causing a relative drain on system rescources where an external/hardware modem on the other hand takes care of these processes on board. So by isolating a component and creating a dedicated rather than integrated unit it's easier for the people who make it to impruve on its function.
    Like I said...hopefully someone who knows what there talking about will answer aswell..... :)
    Cheers,
    [8].

3. Knightshade

Knightshade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Rockerbug,
    A power amp has no controls. It requires some kind of pre amp stage to function. Either an integrated or dedicated Pre amp.