Why do amplifiers typically only have RCA inputs?

TangledUp

Novice Member
I am a complete newb when it comes to a/v and am confused about something. I recently purchased a Russound R1250MC amplifier in order to power various zones using Sonos. The Sonos has two digital outputs and an RCA output. The amp has only RCA inputs. I was concerned I got the wrong amp and then researched that almost every amp I saw only had RCA inputs as well.

From what I understand, and I could be wrong, digital inputs are "supposed" to provide a higher quality sound than RCA inputs. If that is the case, then what is the point of even using these optical outputs when an amps connection will just degrade the signal via the RCA inputs? What am I missing here?

I think you might be missing that you need a pre-amplifier between the Sonos and the Russound power amp?

The Russound is just a power amplifier. You feed a variable level of input signal into it from a pre-amp or surround processor and it provides a fixed amount of amplification to the speakers. Any sound processing or volume control needs to be performed before it gets to the amp.

As to why it needs to have analogue inputs, well at some point a digital signal needs to be converted to analogue in order to amplify it to loudspeaker level. It's generally accepted that power amps are just dumb analogue grunt and the D-to-A conversion is done in the pre-amp stage.

andy1249

Distinguished Member
That is the case with most stereo integrated amps as well. RCA inputs only.

AV Receivers are where you have digital signal processing , various other onboard signal processers , video signal processers , and both pre and power amps built into the one unit.
These are by far the most common "amps" sold today , and you can indeed get very good results from them, but not as good as dedicated units.

Stereo integrated and power amps on the other hand , are purer beasts , aiming for a better signal by forcing processing duties out to another box.