1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why did they stop making the Servo 15?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by The Hemulen, Nov 21, 2003.

  1. The Hemulen

    The Hemulen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    Seems a bit odd to me when they have a well liked sub with good reviews that people are keen to buy, that the supply dries up.
    I know RS were selling then a good few hundred less than the original price but presumably a decent profit on both parties was still being made.
    Or have I missed something obvious like Paradigm going bust etc?
     
  2. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paradigm are very much alive and well :rolleyes:

    It may be that Richer sounds are not going to be importing any more of these units, but there is a lot of rumour and supporsistion about this and no definitive answer from RS or Paradigm.
    Perhaps if Nick Halliday is still looking at these forums he could put this issue to bed once and for all............I'm sure Paradigm would be less than happy if the rumour persists that they are going bust

    HTH
    John
     
  3. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,308
    Mr Halliday is no longer an employee of RS.
     
  4. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,072
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +137
    They're still making 'em, but they bypass the general public and are delivered direct to Steve Ex. & The Beekeeper.


    Adz
     
  5. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paradigm are to North America what B&W are to the UK except Paradigm are good value for money :devil:

    Decent RS stores like Sheffield can still order Paradigm gear for you but the catch is you have to wait for one of the few shipments that come across. I love Paradigm but I could never reccommend their products to anyone in this country purely because the service is diabolical, RS don't care though as their profits lie in the end of line budget range. However it's no use hoping that another company would take on the Paradigm cause because RS can't be beaten for price on Paradigm gear....................rock and a hard place :rolleyes:
     
  6. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just called Richers Sheffield...

    Aside from not having the slightest idea what the guy at the other end was saying - he must have been using an awful quality phone - I managed to make out "No Servo", "Second Hand", "Gale", and "Catalogue".

    With those four words, I've no doubt anybody who's familiar with RS will know how the conversation went...
     
  7. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was actually referring to Paradigm speakers, sorry for the vagueness :blush:

    Ask for Stewart next time, he's the assistant manager but IMO he's the best guy to speak to, very helpfull.
     
  8. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guessed :D - but I've also found Sheffield to be one of the best Richer Sounds stores and thought phoning them would give me the definitive answer on whether they'll get a Servo in... instead of the vague nonsense we all get fed by most of Richer Sound's staff.
     
  9. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    one of the best!!! look for the original post by Ramius on the Servo which I basically took over I would hate to see the worst
     
  10. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

    Have you gone for 4 yet Nic?

    Steve
     
  11. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Richer Sounds Sheffield:confused: If thats a good one god help the rest of you,the staff remind me of red coats.:rotfl:
     
  12. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=23207&referrerid=15820

    This is the thread that started the whole low dostortion sub thing that Ramius originally posted though I was on the case already by them. He really knew his stuff, anyone seen him recently?

    I 'catalogued' my dealings with RS (Sheffield) as a warning to others re getting this great sub. At the time no one seemed interested :(

    All eventually sorted at the RS end with a little help from Canada.

    Unfortunately I only have two Servos, money is tight as I am just finishing the new roon :) Frankly I am happy with that but it doesn't mean I am not still playing with toys.

    Mind you no one at the time could understand why I had two subs, haven't times changed?
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
     
  14. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    cruel but funny :) It brings back memories.....:)
     
  15. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    everybody else has prefect working servo's and mine just commits suicide :mad:
     
  16. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's happened?
     
  17. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi Sticker
    Well it's the end of a long saga.
    First brought it 3/9 get the sub home and it's dead no power or sound. return the sub for service and the fault was a brown fuse had blown, get the unit back and then 2 weeks later the sub blows again.
    So off i go to return the sub again, when i call the service center to check what the fault was i'm told again it was a blown fuse. I'm told it would be put on 24hr soak test before being returned to me. So I wait 2 days and call again, then I'm told that it blew again whilst on soak test. At this stage i point out to them that something must be causing the fuse to keep blowing.:rolleyes:
    The service center inform me that it will be sorted before they return it to me.
    So at last I go to collect my Servo on friday night, Get it home and guess what.
    At this point i thought I would call it a day. As the ever help staff assure me that they would be unable to source me a new unit.
    And their complete lack interpersonal skills was just making me
    :mad:
     
  18. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Samir,
    This is a reasonably common fault withe the servo 15, the same happened to one of mine. The corrective measure they should be taking is to put a higher rated fuse in it. The fuse rating should be is I think 2.5T.
    If you phone the Romford branch of Richer sounds and ask to speak to the resident engineer (Chris) he will tell you what the uprated fuse should be.

    HTH

    John
     
  19. The Hemulen

    The Hemulen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    If you want to sell it 'as is' I'll take it off your hands for the £399 you presumably paid for it.
     
  20. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    Are you switching it off at the mains? If so, this could be the problem as the transformer draws a pretty hefty switch on surge current.

    If you leave it switched on all the time, it will go into standby mode, but the transformer will still be powered, thus avoiding the surge.

    Edit: Just re-read your post, if it blew during soak test, it's unlikely to be switch on surge unless they switched it off and on a few times.
     
  21. ShinObiWAN

    ShinObiWAN
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a very similar problem with mine not long ago.

    I accidentally unplugged the sub from the wall whilst it was on and the sub blew the internal fuse.

    Took it apart and replaced with another 2.5A T fuse and EVERY time you turned on it blew it instantly.

    I was worried because I knew a replacement would be impossible to find. So as a last resort a put a 3.15A in the sub. And et-voila it works fine.

    Massive Attack once again really does sound massive.

    Maybe its worth a try? Worked for me anyway.
     
  22. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi guys
    Well you seem to having given me hope and it seems like there some light at the end of the tunnel. I'm going to get onto Richer service center and see if this fault can truely be fixed,
    as it seems it can be done.

    :)
     
  23. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Well I spoke with Chris at Romford regarding upgrading the fuse to 3.15 and he informed that this indeed is a possible solution to my problem.
    The funny thing was he said that he would have done the repair, only he couldn't the the beast up the stairs to his workshop, so it went to central services. Why the engineer there didn't think of it I don't know
    My other option is I've located a battered but fully working servo 15 that they could use for parts and exchange the amp panels.

    So now let's see how things pan out.

    thanks
     
  24. The Hemulen

    The Hemulen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    RS have located or you have??
    I'll even buy a battered (but not deep fried please) Servo 15 if it works! If it isn't required to get yours going then please let me know..
     
  25. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32

    RS sounds have located it. and according to them the Cab damage is very bad, So boy that must be bad, because I've what they feel is ok conditon. But i will let you if it'd not needed.


    Posh I thought i was bad when i get this servo idea stuck in my head
    ;)
     
  26. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Samir,
    The replacement if the fuse is really easy. All that has to be done is to undo the 12 screws on the amp plate. I know when they did mine it only took 3 minutes. So if you want to do it yourself it will be easy. I believe that JohnS did it in his servo.

    Good luck
    John
     
  27. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
  28. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Chips, couldn't paste the link as all my link pasting seems to point to my own latest post :(
     
  29. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    I think having it working even if only for a short time has made things worse, as now i know what I'm missing. ;) Will keep you updated.

    Thanks for your input
    Samir
     
  30. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi Posh Bloke
    I was unable send pm due your box being full, please empty.
     

Share This Page

Loading...