1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why can't I get DTS?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Dan110, Dec 31, 2002.

  1. Dan110

    Dan110
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    This may be a dumb question with a v simple answer, but I have a Yamaha 630 rds receiver, pioneer 717 dvd player and B&W 602s3, LCR60, 600s3 rears and ASW650 sub. Really happy with the setup however, when I select DTS on a dvd like U571 or Gladiator no sound comes from the speakers? Any ideas why? The TV is connected to the DVD via an Ixos 141av scart, the dvd is hooked up to the receiver via an QED SR75 coaxial cable and the speakers are wired up with QED silver anniversary cable. Where am I going wrong? The DVD player does not have a DTS badge on the front but when you go into the digital output in the DVD players menus, it has DTS there. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    Ok...

    Couple of questions.. I presume DD material works fine.. and the amp locks onto the digital signal?

    Secondly Does the Amp register the DTS signal (does DTS light up on the amp?) and if any of the movies let u change soundtracks on the fly does the sound then come on then go ?..

    Only thing I can think of is that the amp is not locking to the DTS bitstream (Ihave the same prob with some DTS LD's which do not carry the DTS flag. so the amp does not pick it up properly).

    What are the options in the menu's for the co-ax output.. and I presume you do not need to tell it which you are using (ie optical/coax?)

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  3. sc1977

    sc1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +8
    have you enabled the dts output in the dvd setup?:D
     
  4. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    1. Ensure that DTS streaming is enabled in the DVD players setup.
    2. Ensure that the amp is set to auto-decoding, else manually force it to DTS (for testing)
    3. Select the DTS soundtrack in the menu of the DVD disc

    Observe the indications on the amps display and report back those if it still doesn't work. Good luck!
     
  5. FunkyMonkey

    FunkyMonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +83
    If there is no DTS logo on the DVD player there is more than a fair chance that it will not read the DTS data from your DVD disk.

    The reason you can still select DTS from the menu is that the navigation software in your DVD player is not intelligent enough to realise your DVD player does not have DTS so allows you to go ahead and choose it.
     
  6. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    The 717 is DTS.
    I have one hooked up to Sony STRDB940 that is also DTS.

    Take note though, I upgraded my Yammy amp RXV595 because it did not have DTS. Maybe the prob. is the amp.

    Nope, the 630 is DTS also.

    My 717 has never had a problem with DTS, you just select it on audio settings and its there. The amp has a little DTS icon that appears when decodind DTS.

    Difficult.

    Check the cables.
     
  7. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    Go into "setup" on the DVD player, 717.

    Goto "output" under setup.

    Goto "dig. output".

    Go down to "DTS" on this menu and use left/right to switch DTS on.

    I bet this is what is wrong.

    Happy New Year.

    Check this out too.

    Optical Illussions
     

Share This Page

Loading...