Why 4:3 ???? Any way of changing V+ output to 16:9 permanently

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by marcstang, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. marcstang

    marcstang
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Not so sunny Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +140
    I just had the V+ box installed this afternoon. It's connected via the hdmi connection of the TV. One annoying issue I have is that a lot of the channels broadcast in 4:3. The TV is set to Wide but all I get is a picture with 2 black bars on the side. It's driving me mad.:mad:
     
  2. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hehe, it's the channels not virgin, as long as you have it set to wide in the V+ settings! :D
     
  3. marcstang

    marcstang
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Not so sunny Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +140
    Just noticed that it was only set to 720 but not 720 wide :rolleyes:

    Good job I have my trusty Harmony 885 so that I was able to set up the hdmi. The Virgin Media bloke run out of remotes and will have to bring one round on friday.
     
  4. ScottBT

    ScottBT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +47
    I have my TV set to wide and the V+ set to 720 wide and I still get borders and the side (about an inch) on some broadcasts. Doesn't happen with scart so it must be an HDMI thing.
     
  5. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,133
  6. andythescientis

    andythescientis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +110

    That usually happens on some BBC stuff, usually news outside broadcasts and local stuff, i think it's because they film in 4:3, then zoom in a bit, to put it into the 16:9 output of the beeb.
     
  7. BikeNutt

    BikeNutt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +78
    I think the Beeb use 14:9 for some OB stuff which is why you get thin borders.

    What's the betting Hotel Babylon will be butchered to 4:3 when shown on LivingTV (when we all know it was shot 16:9)

    Ho-hum!
     
  8. Meatball

    Meatball
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Alot of TV adverts are 14:9. Most content on UK Tv and Discovery are 4:3 from my experience. Bravo and the music channels are 90% 4:3 aswell.
     
  9. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,133
    Bravo is all 4:3!
     

Share This Page

Loading...