1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who uses GPS on their PDA?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by bob mushroom, Dec 26, 2003.

  1. bob mushroom

    bob mushroom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    I am considering purchasing TomTom's Navigator 2 for my IPAQ 2210 for use mostly in the car - I am also looking to add on Trafcam for £79.

    I was wondering what people's views are who use their PocketPC as a Satnav device?

    Please let me know your experiences.
     
  2. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    Definitely recommended by me. I also use Tomtom Nav, and find it excellent. Satnav was a £2k option when I bought my car, and Tomtom is just as good, far cheaper, and I can take it into other cars, hire cars on business trips etc.

    Hearty thumbs up from me!
     
  3. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Its fantastic, also bought the USA maps for a trip to NJ.
    Only complaint, no upgrade for trafalgar square.

    JOhn
     
  4. bob mushroom

    bob mushroom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    thank you for the responses - looks like TomTom is the one I will be going for - but oaklandraiders has bought up an interesting point. How often will i need to upgrade the maps for accuracy and how much will that cost? Can anyone give me an idea.
     
  5. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    It depends how often Tomtom upgrade, which is not so often. For someone living in Edinburgh, version 1 of the map had the teensy disadvantage that the Forth road bridge wasn't included, meaning some interesting routing options getting presented! V2 has sorted that, and I certainly notice far fewer oddities than I used to!
     
  6. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    They do free upgrades but not very often.

    JOhn
     
  7. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
  8. vdub

    vdub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apologies for my ignorance, basically what do you need to get sat nav from a Mobile and PDA, also is there are charge once you have the equipment (like a call cost whilst using sat nav)
     
  9. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    Basically you need a PDA (eg IPAQ) and some form of GPS receiver - such as CF card, bluetooth connection, serial connection etc. That allows you to receive the signals which could tell you where you are - they are free (well, the American raxpayer no doubt paid handsomely for them).

    However you also need to interpret those signals, so you need some software, such as Tomtom. It takes the signals, works out where you are, and plonks that data into mapping software. There's a charge for buying this, but none for using it.

    Some of these can integrate with traffic info, and this may be charged if collected via phone (call charges) or may be free if collected over the radio (I'm speaking here of the German traffic systems as I'm not sure of the UK ones).

    It's not the most scientific explanation! I'd suggest a read of the below website for more and better info!

    http://www.pocketgps.co.uk/
     
  10. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    Additionally you can download (from pocketgps) POI data (Points of Interest) that are the known locations of traffic and speed cams cams. You can then integrate this into the tomtom maps and it will give an audible warning as you approach speed cameras if you are above the speed limit for that camera.

    I have a Honda Accord Type-V (which is for sale if anybody wants it :)) which has a built in sat nav on a 5"/6" screen. I've got a new Audi A4 (which isnt for sale :)) which had a £2k option for sat nav. Ouch! So I went the pda route and plumbed in the pda version into the accord and compared them. They pretty much calculacted the same route and made announcements for turning etc at roughly the same time. The maps looked very similar in presentation.

    The built in satnav did acquire the sat signals quicker and could recalculate the route quicker if you wandwandered of fthe path.

    but hten £2k compared to £500 ish (depending on models/pdas) not much of difficult desicion really. I went for an iPaq with bluetooth and went for the TomTom with bluetooth - much easier with less wires.

    The bonus of being able to switch cars and use it outside while walking too is a great bonus. We went on a med cruise this year and visited Barcelona, Rome etc. I bought the European Maps for TomTom and downloaded the relevent cities to the iPaq prior to sailing (as well as the UK maps).

    The pda navigated us from Leeds to the Southampton docks and then showed us around the citites when we got there - the colleseum, Trevi Fountain and The Forums where a breeze to find!

    Pluse I took extra SD cards with MP3s on and I used it as an MP3 player as well. Great!

    One of my better purchases
     
  11. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I use TomTom and would not go any distance now without it. Very accurate, and if you add the speedcam database and other points of interests, then you wonder how you ever managed without gps.

    You can also link to your mobile to get traffic info from the internet.

    I am considering Traffic-i instead of traffic master. Its only £39 pa, and will show maps on a symbiam (nokia or ericsson) mobile
     
  12. redmax

    redmax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,050
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    ESSEX, UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    Just to add my comments to the above:
    I am a total newbie regarding GPS but recently puchased TomTom 2 Bluetooth & iPaq 2210 and absolutley love it.
    Its very easy to set up once you get your head round it all.

    www.pocketgps.co.uk is an excellent resource for newbies.
    I travel 2000 miles a month by car minimum and don't know how I ever lived without it.
    Never mind POI speed cameras, whats really good is that someone has databased Burger Kings throughout the UK!!!

    here
    :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
     
  13. dejongj

    dejongj
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beautiful South
    Ratings:
    +4,481
    I use the ALDI Medion package PDA, Car mount, charger and Navigon software (Maps dated June 2003!) which I bought for only £349...
    It is brilliant...I now have the audio input connected to my Blaupunkt headunit and it works just like a mobile phone...i.e. Interrupts the radio, cd or mp3 from the radio when the friendly lady wants to give me voice directions and she does that via the car speakers....
    Unfortunately no UK map data support the Traffic Message Channel on RDS yet for PDA's...so I bought a trafficmaster freeway for just £24.95 which give me upto date traffic information....So no more finding myself in a traffic jam just after I passed an motorway exit...No worries about not knowing the route as Navigon automatically (like all the others) recalculates my route.....

    Go for it....You won't regret it....

    And yest...go to pocketgps for the best information...
     
  14. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    If I got Tomtom for my Ipaq 2210 could I use it whilst walking in the Peak District or Yorkshire Dales or does it just do roads ?
     
  15. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
  16. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best way to do that is with a bluetooth GPS reciever, that way the reciever is self powered, not plugged into the ciggy lighter in your car. TomTom is road mapping software not for use off road. you need Memory map for that the new version (2004) of MM even dose 3D terains and the like!

    http://www.memory-map.co.uk/how_it_works.htm

    As a side note I have TomTom3 at the mo & memory map on order.
     
  17. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    Cheers for the info. I assume if I buy the Bluetooth version of TomTom I can use use GPS hardware for Memory Map ?
    I'd be interested to hear what you think of the Memory Map software when you get it.
     
  18. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats correct, but you will need to install the GPS driver V2.07 as anything above locked the bluetooth COM port to TomTom.

    Installed MM now, haven't had a chance to play (yet) but its V impressive so far :smashin:
     
  19. conington

    conington
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sorry to hijack your thread but you folks obviously know what you're talking about ......

    I've just purchased a Toshiba E750 PDA which I am very happy with, I now want to set the unit up with GPS, I would like it to be portable and as such am looking for a receiver that will use by CF slot. Can anyone recommend such a receiver and also what software is best to use (only need road/street maps for the UK and maybe Europe).


    Thanks
     
  20. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a look at http://www.pocketgps.co.uk/menu_gpshardware.php for your reciever and IMHO TomTom is the software you want.
     

Share This Page

Loading...