Who is paying for my broadband??

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by wingnut121, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. wingnut121

    wingnut121
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +106
    Hi people

    I was hoping if some one could help me with a dilemma at my new place.

    I moved in at the start of the month, first thing i needed to do was set up broadband.

    I chose a supplier and as usual i have to wait for a connection date. Mine is the end of this month.

    That is a long time to go without internet, so i thought i would give it ago and plug my old sky router in and see what happens.

    And to my surprise i had internet, also plugged in my phone and i could make and receive calls.

    Now i have completely cancelled my sky subscription at my previous property, so i don't know why i am getting internet.

    The only thing i can think of is the previous tenant has not cancelled there connection to this property and i am getting it on there bill.

    But where do i stand on this, the property has been empty for 2 months and there is no post from sky for bills etc. Will the charges come back on me? The strange thing is the company i am signing up with can not see that there is a line already connected.

    Any thoughts??
     
  2. Phil57

    Phil57
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Vale of Evesham
    Ratings:
    +621
    ...............Lucky sod!!;)
     
  3. Graham27

    Graham27
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St. Helier, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +976
    Sometimes people are tied into a minimum term contract with a supplier that they can't get at their new address.

    When we moved out of a house a while ago we had 6 months still remaining, and we used it as a sweetener to the next tenants and kept paying it ourselves until our contract was up.

    When we moved into our current place the prospective tenant had paid for connection and a years contract. We could have just paid nothing, but we took over the line rental out of fairness as the previous chap had paid a hefty connection fee as it was a new property.
     
  4. wingnut121

    wingnut121
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +106
    I had never thought of that!!

    I am i right in thinking then my new broadband provider would not be able to provide me with broadband anyway due to some else being connected??

    I might just cancel my new provider and wait and see how long this internet lasts for...
     
  5. Graham27

    Graham27
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St. Helier, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +976
    Yeah, you can't do anything easily while there's a service active on the line. There are ways to get it sorted, but I don't know what they are :)

    We had more hassle taking over the bills than we would have had letting the other guy pay it! We had to get forms sent out, fill them in and sign them, send them to the old tenant for his approval, then get them back and sent them to the Telecoms company. Then they said we couldn't alter the package he'd taken out, then they agreed to change it, then there was disagreement over who owned the original router, etc, etc.

    Also, don't sky routers only work with Sky connections?
     
  6. Fatti

    Fatti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    If you know your IP address (or get it here) then pop it into the seach of Database Query, that should at least tell you who the ISP is.
     
  7. Coffin

    Coffin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    11,575
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,184
    I have just completed the sale of a property which had/has Sky ADSL and telephone

    On Friday, I called them to cancel it, thinking I could request the cease date as today, knowing I'd be completing today. The chap told me that was not the case; my only two options were to cease it there and then or 10 days from that date. He made it very clear choosing there and then meant the web would stop that evening

    So I decided not to as, silly as it may sound, I knew the next day I wouldn't have a TV in the house but via my iPad I could watch Match of the Day live :)

    Anyhow......I called back this morning to cancel and Sky told me I have to give 14 days notice. After much to and fro I hit the inevitable brick wall and was left with no choice but to wait the 14 days for the services to cease

    My point (there is one!) being the line and ADSL are still 'live' at the property until early September, perphaps the same has happened with yourself as already suggested. FWIW I put a block on international and premium rate calls (most I could do) so perhaps you should try calling Babestation :D
     
  8. wingnut121

    wingnut121
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +106
    I had the 14 day wait with my last place as well, but at this place no one has been here for over 2 months.

    My ISP is with Sky so i am just lucky that i had a sky router.

    The previous tenant has either forgot to cancel their contract or their contract has a minimum time span on it.

    But i am sure with any sky deal you can pull out at anytime just have to wait the 14 days??

    I suppose i can just wait and see....
     
  9. Graham27

    Graham27
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St. Helier, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +976
    I think at least some of the Sky deals are 12 month minimum contract.
     
  10. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    65,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +45,311
    But would the previous occupant not take that contract with him? and it's just they are slow at switching it off at the old house?
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  11. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,272
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Belfast - Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +5,000
    I got a free year of 512k NTL internet because the man on the other end of the phone refused to believe it was active in my area and when I said 'well how come I can see this Altavista page?' he hung up on me.
     
  12. Curly99

    Curly99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    They could of had there mail re-directed so any bill will go to there new address, if you can get their address or phone number why not give them a call and find out if your property is still on a minimum contract with there supplier or at least let them know so they can cancel, is there anything legally they can do if they find out you have been using it without informing them as it would be in there name? Fraud or services by deception? maybe?

    Curly
     
  13. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,220
    Could have moved abroad or in with a partner who already has an ISP.

    Wasn't there a similar thread a while back where the OP just ended up banging their head against a wall built from DPA bricks trying to get it resolved?
     
  14. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    Sky has a 12 month minimum contract but you can take it with you when you move, that what I have just done. I had Sky in one property, requested a home move, they shut it down at my old address and turned it all back on at my new.

    I would imagine that the old tenants in your place just forgot to move it. You can call sky and tell them you are in the address now and they can transfer the broadband and phone into your name (as I have also done before).
     
  15. jassco

    jassco
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,976
    Does it take a long time to transfer, or is it instant?
     
  16. Graham27

    Graham27
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St. Helier, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +976
    But if you move somewhere like the Channel Islands (as I did) then you can't get Sky broadband at all, despite still being able to get Sky TV and theoretically having a British phone number. As Crocodile mentioned, the tenant could have moved in with a partner who had an existing contract (as I also did). I keep giving them free money :)
     
  17. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    65,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +45,311
    I don't remember, but I see what you mean in the first bit :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice