1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who is getting Euro1080 with a Skystar 2 ?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by RecordablDVDfan, Jan 14, 2004.

  1. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    I want to know for definate that people are getting perfect reception with this particular card of the HDTV channel(s) Euro1080.

    Also is there any review of this card preferably with screenshots ?
    I want to know if bitrates of tv and mainly radio stations are shown

    Plus the Skystart 1 card has a CI card which you can buy an irdeto card for, so will this decode the forthcoming encrypted transmissions of Euro1080 which will use the same irdeto encryption apparently ?
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the only way you'll accept this works if if you actually buy it yourself :D

    Trust me, it works perfectly.

    Screenshots/captures posted by me recently - look back through a few threads.

    The software shows just about everything, bitrates, streams etc. You name it.

    Hope this finally allays your fears ;)
     
  3. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    OK would still to read about views from others though, few actual reviews about the card it seems...

    Also the CI version might be a better bet when they go encrypted in May that's if it will work with Euro1080 etc
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's probably because the Skystar 2 is mainly a data DVB card. As such, it's one of the better ones for high bitrate data reception.

    I've been using Skystar 2s for several years now & apart from a little overheating with earlier models, they're very solid/reliable.

    Good reception of Euro 1080 is as much about the PC & software used.

    Full version of DVB Viewer with hardware acceleration (ATI card) yields perfect results for me at least & Muf.

    Encryption? I'll jump that hurdle when the time comes.

    :smoke:
     
  5. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes I can confirm that SkyStar 2 works great with DVBviewer software full version. I use it exclusively for Euro1080 viewing on a regular basis. Even recording HD to the hard drive works fine.

    Jim
     
  6. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Is it likely to intefere with a Win TV card ?
     
  7. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +106
    Just had the Astra/Hotbird dish put up today at home.

    Recieving Euro1080 on SkyStar 2, no problems.

    After working with HD since the mid 90s, it's very weird having it in the living room.

    Technical quality is very good.
     
  8. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    So are you using the video out of your graphics card ?
     
  9. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +106
    Yes, Radeon 9800 Pro via VGA
     
  10. Lone Granger

    Lone Granger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +8
    any news on a good STB for Euro 1080 as I would like to avoid using PC for various reasons (1 being I work 50 hrs per week on one...)

    You say you are experienced in HiDef, what would be your best guestimate as to performance per £ for a display bought in 2004 (min 50")

    do you know much about various incarnations of LCOS / DILA

    can you tell me anything about Cineos 55 and similar

    or should I just stick to getting new 50" Pioneer with DVi to their DVi DVD + JVS 4k?
     
  11. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +106
    Lone Granger,

    The HD setop box by Zinwell with Irdeto CAM for Euro1080 will be around in a month or two, the FTA version is out now for around Euro 500.

    You are talking about consumer displays, I work with post production (feature films/broadcast) and use the following HD displays.

    1, Sony 24/32inch CRT via HD-SDI
    2, DPI DLP cinema (dark chip) 2K projector - cinema version
    3, DPI 3 chip DLP
    4, Apple LCD 23inch HD display with Edp100 HD-SDI to DVI converter.
    5, JVC 2K D-ILA
    5, Sony Luma LMD230W with HD-SDI

    LCOS has not made any impact yet, and I prefer DLP cinema over D-ILA for.

    Plasmas are normally avoided for video post production work, but you see them used by audio people alot.
     
  12. Lone Granger

    Lone Granger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +8
    Many thanks for prompt and full reply

    can you provide a couple of preferred suppliers for the Uk STB?

    incidentally, I saw on one of the threads that someone with a 4 metre dish thought Euro 1080 had a less than brilliant image res - any comments?

    would you say that it is upto DVHS standards? - I have only seen stuff like Bikini Destinations and that Mediteranean Touristy type piece that has done the circuits these last few years - both made my jaw drop an inch!

    I am a HiDef convert and would welcome any and all info and links to swot up on creating a sensible HC this 2nd Qrt
     
  13. LY2BIG

    LY2BIG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi Jonathan!

    Looks like you are very much in this "game"
    Can you give me an advice ?

    I will have very soon a new HTPC P4 3.2G/ 2G RAM + ATI RADEON All-In-Wonder 9800 PRO128, and a SKYSTAR-2 of course.

    At the other end - a SANYO LCD projector PLV-70 with native 1366x768 is waiting for a GOOD HDTV signal into it's DVI input jack.....
    The PLV-70 is HDTV compatible, accepting the 1080i, 1035i, 720p, 575p, 575i, 480p and 480i . It's circuit can convert a 1080i source to 1080p.

    The quesion is:
    WHAT OTHER cards, convertors etc I will need to add, to enjoy the HDTV at it's BEST from this named configuration. ???
    I can't wait to get the HD on my 125 inch screen :)

    Thanks in advance.

    Rgds, Victor
     
  14. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Can the Skystar2 be used with a motorised dish or do you need the Skystar1 for that?
     

Share This Page

Loading...