Who here could flash a firmware chip for me ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Flimber, Feb 11, 2004.

  1. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,476
    I need to flash some firmware for my DAT drive (to make it audio-capable :) )

    I need this type:

    28Kx16 Flash 44plcc 150ns 5vcc

    Which means one of these chips (or a compatible):

    AMD AM27C2048-150JC
    ATMEL AT29C2048-15JC


    Or where might I start to do this myself ?

    Thanks for any help/advice,
    Mike.
     
  2. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    ?
    Normally to flash a firmware you can do it via the PC. For example to reprogram a DVD-ROM drive to make it multiregion you'd download the image file for what goes in the flash together with a PC program that will do the programming.
    What drive and what firmware are you trying to use?
     
  3. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    You could get on the phone to RS components technical help:
    http://rswww.com/cgi-bin/bv/info/Ab...2=3256881422&labelID=/aboutRS/abtrs_tech.html

    They did have a programing service which was free if you were buying a new chip from them and a charge if you were supplying the blank chip. I only ever had occasion to copy from one chip to another, I dont know how it would work if you were supplying the firmware to them on a disk. I have no experience with DAT drives so I am just talking about chip programing in general. Is it not possible to flash it in the drive like Potfish says?

    Jim
     
  4. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,476
    In my case, the ROM is not reprogrammable so I'll have to change it. It's an Archive Python 2GB drive which I've always planned to audio-enable with the right firmware. I've got the firmware and the right DAT drive but that's as far as it went :)

    Mike.
     
  5. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,476
    Thanks for the link Muf but the session ID timed out before I got here...will have a look later.

    Mike.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice