1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who here could flash a firmware chip for me ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Flimber, Feb 11, 2004.

  1. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    I need to flash some firmware for my DAT drive (to make it audio-capable :) )

    I need this type:

    28Kx16 Flash 44plcc 150ns 5vcc

    Which means one of these chips (or a compatible):

    AMD AM27C2048-150JC
    ATMEL AT29C2048-15JC


    Or where might I start to do this myself ?

    Thanks for any help/advice,
    Mike.
     
  2. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    ?
    Normally to flash a firmware you can do it via the PC. For example to reprogram a DVD-ROM drive to make it multiregion you'd download the image file for what goes in the flash together with a PC program that will do the programming.
    What drive and what firmware are you trying to use?
     
  3. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    You could get on the phone to RS components technical help:
    http://rswww.com/cgi-bin/bv/info/Ab...2=3256881422&labelID=/aboutRS/abtrs_tech.html

    They did have a programing service which was free if you were buying a new chip from them and a charge if you were supplying the blank chip. I only ever had occasion to copy from one chip to another, I dont know how it would work if you were supplying the firmware to them on a disk. I have no experience with DAT drives so I am just talking about chip programing in general. Is it not possible to flash it in the drive like Potfish says?

    Jim
     
  4. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    In my case, the ROM is not reprogrammable so I'll have to change it. It's an Archive Python 2GB drive which I've always planned to audio-enable with the right firmware. I've got the firmware and the right DAT drive but that's as far as it went :)

    Mike.
     
  5. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Thanks for the link Muf but the session ID timed out before I got here...will have a look later.

    Mike.
     

Share This Page

Loading...