1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who has no sky picture problems

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by raigraphixs, Sep 28, 2001.

  1. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    49,767
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +15,182
    Hi,

    I would like to hear from people who do not get picture freezing problems. On a very grey day with ligh to heavy rain, my box is pretty bad, watching football is a nightmare, very bad freezing of picture and signal loss.

    The first bar is full and the second bar is usally under half way. When it rains the lock indicator is off and no bar is showing.

    I have to usally turn it off and do something else!. I have had a new cable put in and i was wondering if it is the dish?.

    How can i tell without getting someone to look at it and pay them about £30-50 to find no problem. I know what seems silly and i should really get it looked at and just pay them.

    <br />ta

    rai<br />Gravesend, in Kent
     
  2. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to hsve freezing problems in bad weather but a saw and a felled tree put paid to that!!<br />Your dish is not alligned correctly. The easiest way to solve this is to pay someone to do it. But to avoid this, next time it rains and you lose the picture AND providing the dish is easy to get to, go outside and play with the dish. Only use VERY SLIGHT movements as digital TV is not like the old analogue system. With digital you probably have an inch play in either direction before you lose the picture completly. That means that you dish is less than one inch out of alignment in any direction. <br />When you are doing this, do not use the signal strength metre as this is very rarely calibrated correctly and is usually as much use as mud flaps on a tortoise! With digital, you either have a picture or you don't.<br />Then again it could be the cable. Make sure you are using single core coax. Buy it from a specialist supplier who know what they're talking about.<br />I'm not quite sure what the figure is in db on Sky for you to get a decent signal, but any loss in the cable combined with a misaligned dish = poor reception.
     
  3. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    If aligning the dish doesn't work then get a solid 80cm dish put up.
     
  4. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A bigger dish is useful north of manchester but not really needed in kent.

    Alignment is the most likely problem unless there kent has aquired some rain forests.
     
  5. malcom

    malcom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I get the same problem too. Usually between 11am and 1 pm (Don't know why). At other times freezing is rare. Oddly the temp fox news channel is not affected! <img src="rolleyes.gif" border="0">
     
  6. Force Field

    Force Field
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I asked a similar question on these forums a few months ago, when it was painfully obvious that people all over the country were experiencing similar problems, and did not relish the prospect of having to pay out £50 for a Sky technician to come and fix a fault that was their responsibility anyway. I hesitate to question the suggestion that it is simply caused by dish alignment, purely because the fault is far more apparent on some channels than it is on others. But having said that I may well give it a go - if I can work up the courage to climb onto the garage roof!
     
  7. Force Field

    Force Field
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I climbed up on the garage roof and fiddled about with the dish alignment while speaking on the mobile with my son while he watched the TV. No improvement whatsoever. Looks like I may well have to fork out that 50 squid after all! :(
     
  8. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't pay sky. Get a local independant out. Tell them your dish is out of alignment and ask how much. I would be very surprised if it cost as much as £50
     
  9. Paden

    Paden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hello all!
    I noticed when I recently put in a sky+ box that the "skew" of my dish was incorrect & made a big difference when corrected. Check it with a spirit level, my problem was caused by a naff bracket.
    Cheers, Paul.
     
  10. Thor

    Thor
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2001
    Messages:
    490
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Above UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think that it could have something to do with the satellite being in a slightly different place from which it originally was broadcasting, thats why so many people are having problems. When I first had SKy Digital it was okay and has got worse since. A friend of mine got his at the same time and had the same problems, he recently moved about another mile or two away and reinstalled his dish and has no problems. Also the amount of crap channels Sky are now squeezing on to the receivers does not help the older models as they have limited space for the new software. I find that the channel banner does not update always on my Pace and that causes the majority of lockups. I have recently noticed when watching episodes of ST: Voyager, the quality of the picture is terrible now compared with a year ago, I think because there are so many other channels now, that Sky are reducing the quality (bitrate) of the picture to compensate for it.:mad:
     
  11. Steve1138

    Steve1138
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    as far as I'm concerned (from my experience), this seems to be all part of the 'service'.

    I just bought a new Panasonic digibox.
    Yesterday (Sun afternoon) I wanted to watch the Rally report on Grandstand, but I couldn't get BBC1 and 2. Other channels I tried were fine.
    Signal Qty was about 25% down. Messed with the dish for a bit (positioned outside of TV room window) but to no avail. Came back later and signal Qty was up to same level as Strength.
    The sky (overhead !) was pretty clear with only faint whisps of cloud and it had been fine all weekend.

    We went thru a period last year for about 3 months where we lost a few channels on consecutive nights, while all other channels were still OK.

    My Sat supplier said channels are on different transponders and have different footprints.

    Mostly, reception is smooth. Biggest problems for me are motion artefacts which are excacerbated by my digital TV. For this, the new Panasonic (on my TV) doesn't seem much better than my old Pace box... but it literally flies thru the menu's / EPG. (Picture from my new Panasonic did look a bit better though on my dad's Sony 28" 50 Hz widescreen, compared to his Pace).

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...