1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whither DVD-Audio?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by warrj, May 19, 2003.

1. warrj

warrj

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I've been keeping an eye on DVD-Audio since its 'launch' a few years back. Today I went to the play.com website's DVD-A section and clicked on 'coming soon'. They list two titles as coming soon. Two! What hope is there for the format? Mainstream customers don't care because:

a) CD is good enough (perfect sound forever - after all)
    b) Most people won't tolerate 5 speakers + sub in their living room

At the moment I don't know of a single DVD-A title which I'd really like to own (with poss exception of Missy Elliot and Doors - both of which I already own and neither of which are particularly recent releases). I currently own in excess of 800 CDs and my tastes are pretty catholic so if I'm struggling to find anything worth buying then the average punter who isn't into dodgy US 70's AOR is not going to be interested either.

My apologies if this sounds like a bit of a rant but I'm just a bit frustrated by the whole thing. I'm starting to suspect that DVD-A has missed its window of opportunity and that the mainstream will be more attracted to the convenience offered by downloaded compressed music (ala the Apple Music Store) than by hi-res audio that won't sound any different to their existing CDs.

All very depressing IMO.

Regards,

Jules.

2. Nic Rhodes

Nic Rhodes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,277