1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Yamaha receiver with Mirage Speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by cpho, Nov 9, 2004.

Tags:
  1. cpho

cpho

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: :confused:

I am a newbie here but read the posts here for some time and I really need lots of help.

I have narrowed down to a new Yammy receiver but I am not sure which model can support my speakers. I currently use a 5 speaker setup to Prologic only and I have intentions to add a sub-woofer later on. The speakers I am using are Mirage(Canadian) M-290 (bookshelf) for the Front L&R, M-190 for the surrounds and MCC(Mirage center channel).

I am looking at the RX-V450, 750, or the 1500 models for watching movies in Dolby Digital and DTS. I am scared that the 750 and 1500 are too powerful for my speakers but I am not sure at all as I am a non-techie.

Will the 450 model be powerful enough to drive the speakers for 50% each for movies and audio?

Regards.

2. cpho

cpho

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody can help me out here??

Appreciate your help.

3. pragmatic

pragmatic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,678
    As far as I understand, and i'm no real expert so just passing on what i've been told. Your amp will not be to powerful for your speakers, aslong as you don't push the volume to high. Also it's best to have an amp that gets towards the top end of the speaker rating rather than the other way around (25-100 and amp near a 100watts is better). This is because a weak amp powering a good/demanding (not necessarily the same thing) speakers could cause feedback and break the amp.

So in truth I believe you should essily be able to get what ever amp you want and play with atleast the same volume your using now.